A Beautiful Blustery Day

To all of the mothers out there I would like to wish you all a Happy Mother’s Day! When I woke up this morning I had every intention of writing a tribute to my mother, things don’t always work out the way you intend.

It would take an emotional toll for me to write it, my mom has been gone 11yrs and it is still really hard. A part of me died with her, actually when she died I wanted to die too. How could I possibly live the rest of my life without her? I honestly think the only reason I survived was because of my kids. I didn’t break, but that was the closest I ever came to a real breakdown.

I was blessed enough to be brought to tears for another reason.  In 8 months or so there will be another member of the next generation. It was beautiful how the soon to be first grandparents were told.  We were all crying and hugging and it was a good emotionally draining moment.

My cousin in law is about to find out what spoiled really means. I will be delivering a big box of saltines and ginger ale tomorrow. I am soooooo excited!! I really had to stop myself from shopping for the baby, just like I have to stop myself from buying for the first next generation beautiful baby girl.

The wind was horrific today, it was like adding insult to injury since there is a freeze warning tonight and there were snow flurries today. It’s a fluke and will be better in a few days, but grrr. I had to turn the heat back on, it’s crazy.

I did notice that whenever I walk by the window and see the green it makes me smile. I think that after all of the leaves are back on the trees, it then becomes my favorite time of the year. I can’t explain it, everything is green again, the sun shines more, and it warms up, it just feels “right”.

Yesterday I took my first sewing class, we made a shopping bag. Here is mine….in the garden 012

I signed up to take an apron class before I left. I am serious about this learning to sew stuff! I even bought this…i_Joann-Fabrics_2012_Rolling-Sewing-Machine-or-Scra_1353008777This was a Black Friday add, I paid $34.99 and mine is black and off white, but it has wheels.

The hummingbird feeders didn’t really work out, my daughter and were able to save one of them for my aunt.in the garden 014

It looked a lot easier on Pinterest, although they used wine bottles. I put bath salts in crown bottles for Christmas one year and people still bring me bottles. If anybody out there as any ideas for projects using crown bottles please let me know. (I have a few friends who are bar tenders…not lushes, well maybe the one)

My son using his own money for the first time bought me a Mother’s Day present.in the garden 013What a good choice 🙂

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Beautiful Blustery Day

  1. Amazing bag. I envy the talent. And congrats on the little one.

    • I don’t know about the talent on this one but I can follow the teachers instructions…..wait I’m supposed to say thank you very much. Still learning how to take a compliment 🙂

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

