A Reflective Kind of Day

kingofpeacelabyrinthI went to visit a friend today, one I have not spent any time with in about eight years or so. It was such a nice afternoon. K.W. is the friend that I promised the picture of Flora to.

Just because I haven’t mentioned Soul Spaces lately doesn’t mean that I am not still working on it. I brought K.W. the picture as well as the pretty Asian lady statue that I used as a door stop. I replaced her with this…in the garden 029He is a bit heavier and I need two hands to move him, but he makes me smile. Bonus he was on clearance at TJ Maxx!

The little Asian statue came from Cockroach’s grandmothers house after she passed so even though I liked her she had to go and I knew K.W. would appreciate her. I also gave her the Venus statue that I loved…… it was my only Goddess statue but it also came from the grandmother so it had to go. It felt good to give it to someone who would love it as much as I did.

K.W. has always been such an inspiration to me. When she takes ink to a stamp she creates art, it’s amazing! She made this Goddess card for me years ago when I still worked in custom framing, and it still hangs by my front door.in the garden 030

She is inspirational in other ways as well. The first time I ever walked a labyrinth it was with her and she introduced me to Jamie Sams and her medicine cards and Ted Andrews (who I just learned passed away) and his book Animal Speak. K.W. has done more for my spirituality than the Catholic Church did when it had me under it’s thumb for twelve years. She is definitely an inspiration to me!! I know that I have said that more than once but it is true, 🙂

She has grown so much since the last time our paths have crossed.  She has been doing these workshops with her husband (I still have the mental image of him and his pom poms because he is the most supportive husband ever!) They have created a pretty awesome way of living. In the shower this morning I was thinking how lucky she is to be leading an artful life. She works really hard, don’t get me wrong, but it is a fulfilling work. Here is an example since I was lucky enough to leave with a present….in the garden 028

A portable labyrinth…who knew? I think P.K. would appreciate this and I have been thinking of a way to thank him for all of the hours he listened to me babble….now that’s hard work! So I will order one from K.W. for him.

I didn’t mean to ramble on but I just wanted you to get the whole image of this wonderful woman. Oh and a we had a weird moment….while we were sitting outside talking two squirrels rolled in front of our feet…one gray….one red. We both just lifted our feet and said “AHH” really loud and off they scurried. The red one continued to yell and taunt us from the tree it was crazy weird. We looked it up in Animal Speak it didn’t really speak to me…but the contrary meaning in the Medicine cards…yep that’s me a lot of the time….go figure.medicinecards

I just feel so inspired! It makes me want to pull out of some of the things that I have started but never finished. I started doing collages on the major arcana of the tarot and each had a corresponding poem. I was really proud of those and I did them so I could get a better understanding of the meanings. I must have had a dream or two or something else that happened that scared me off and I stopped. I am afraid of my own power…..it took me a long time to realize that. Maybe I will post those here, I stumbled upon them a few months ago.  Wait until you hear the poem about the lovers….I was so delusional!

I must get started on my blueberry jam experiment. Did you ever wonder what blueberries with a few strawberries and maybe some blackberries…..toss in some lavender..would taste like? I will let you know! I love a good concoction…now if I can only remember to write it down…-Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Reflective Kind of Day

  1. Pingback: Connected… | Once Upon the Wings of a Dragonfly

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

