Not Normal

I am so happy that I am not normal! Why anybody would want to be like everybody else is beyond my comprehension…..but I like to teeter on that edge of ‘just not right.’

If I blow up before I finish this post, this is the culprit…summer 2013 adventures 031I have decided to face….the pressure canner….

Fingers crossed xxxx. I am canning chicken broth that has been simmering for more than 24hrs and I really hope I don’t blow up. If I don’t blow up than I also hope that I got all of the little bones out. That’s a lot of pressure…..yes pun intended. (I know that was bad)

The not normal issue came up when I was talking to S.B. earlier. (who is calling me at 9 o’clock to make sure that I did not suffer death by canning) I had asked her if she ever started a bucket list..she has not. After reviewing my list in print…..I kinda get that I give off a witchy vibe. I still don’t consider myself a witch but hey you’re free to think whatever you want.

I don’t put a lot of stock into what people think of me and that has been my saving grace more times than I can count. If I have passed anything onto my children….please let it be that one.

So here goes my bucket list.

1. I want to learn Italian. I have been trying to teach myself on and off for a few years now. I think I may need the structure of a class…I will work on finding one.italian

2. When I learn Italian (reading and writing) I want to go here…rotondella picRotondella, Italy. This is where my grandmother came from and I would like to see it.

3. As some of you may know, I was born in Germany. I’m not sure if I am ambitious enough to learn this language, but I would like to visit.kasselI have no memory of my first 3months, so this would be new to me.

3. Before I die, I would like to go to Salem, Massachusetts in October. Can you think of any place more fun at this time of year?salem_witchI want the whole experience! The haunted hotels, the quaint little shops, all of it!  Hopefully while I am still young enough to enjoy it, I will make it to this one.

4. This one may sound crazy, BUT I have always wanted to be able to recite The Raven in it’s entirety. If I can still recite most of One Fish Two Fish, Red Fish Blue Fish and my children are teenagers….I should be able to swing this one. Odd I know, but it’s something that I have always wanted to do.the raven

This is my list so far…..I have only been working on it for a couple of weeks and this is what I have been able to decide on.

Thinks like Times Square on New Year’s eve and New Orleans during Mardi Gras…..well maybe once upon a time, but now? Way too many people and I don’t think that I have the patience for that anymore.

So tell me…….what’s the most off the wall thing on your bucket list?…..Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Not Normal

  1. Jean says:

    When I was in my teens I wanted to ride in a hot-air balloon before I died. Then in my early twenties I did it. That was before we called it a bucket list. I haven’t really had anything since, unless you count wanting four kids, which I did as well. Maybe I would like to go to Skepticon. That has been forming in my mind for a year or two. But a list? I can’t seem to get more than one thing at a time.

    • dragonflyzia says:

      I joke about putting things on my bucket list all of the time, but to actually mean it…..that was hard. I remember when the kids were little I tossed around the idea of reading them The Raven until I memorized it BUT I just couldn’t do it and stuck with Dr. Suess. So I guess I have wanted to do these things for a while and haven’t done them. Good for you that you can actually do. I need to do more and want less….did that make sense?

  2. Salem in October sounds fun. One of the crazy things on my list is to spend a summer and see a baseball game at every major league park.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

