It’s Raining It’s Pouring…..

This was my driveway after work today…..summer 2013 adventures 034

Twenty crazy monsoon minutes and I had a lake….gotta love Ohio. The only good thing so far from this ‘not normal weather’ is my first little harvest.summer 2013 adventures 038

There will be some serious zucchini grating going on in this house over the next couple of days. Grate and freeze now……zucchini bread later. I also made a few of the small ones into pickles in one of my canning frenzies.

I never mentioned the jelly taste we had at P.T.’s two Sundays ago. It was fun and I learned what would be better titled as a topping and what everybody thought. Constructive criticism on future holiday presents is always a good thing.  I was partial to the strawberry basil jam, I would have never put those flavors together so thank you Pinterest!  I also learned that limoncello jelly made from super strong Everclear  still has a burn. I’m not sure why, the alcohol usually burns off? It was nice to get some feed back and I think everybody else was having fun too.

I had a nice surprise in the mail today…it was from M.K.summer 2013 adventures 037

The color is called up all night..perfect for the toes. She said “it reminded me of you, it’s one of those mystical cool colors.” It was so sweet! I will remind all of you again in case I haven’t said it enough…I have the best friends…I am so lucky! 🙂

My daughter and I had to take movies back to the video store and when we were in there the owner was telling me about her sister during the heat wave. (quick back story…last summer when it was really hot for a while…and I have no air at home…and the miracle van didn’t have air…I went in..made sure no other people were present and I laid on the floor) They were in the car and her sister said”I can’t take this heat when we get to the store I’m gonna pull a Zia!” HA!  That was funny and she couldn’t wait to tell me.

Then we had to run to the mall real quick and leave it to my daughter…….she said “you know mom since Princess Diana was buried the day I was born and you almost gave me that middle name..that’s what you should call me in your blog….Diana Princess of THE Whales.” After I laughed and little tears were rolling out of the corners of my eyes I said “Princess of Wales…not the whales” Only my kid and this only came up because of the new little prince. I was teasing her in Macy’s and I called her a brat and her response was “apple…tree… mom” I know my little clone, I know.

Work is so stressful that I want to hide in any random closet that is available, so I will take comic relief anywhere I can get it. It has to get better right?….Zia

 

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to It’s Raining It’s Pouring…..

  1. roberta4949 says:

    I figured there would be flooding it is like the rain doesn’t want to go away, yesterday went for a walk with my puppies and it was sunny, on the way home guess what? it was cloudy thundering and raining I am like really? haven’t we had enough already? the mosquitos are getting really bad in spots around here, yuck, we need to dry out so my poor plants can stand up straight again, they have been getting beaten into submission, my rosa rugosa was like almost to the ground I had to prop it up on the stake (the wire came loose) but it is sunny out right now but for how long?

  2. guitargrl325 says:

    So you can freeze shredded zucchini?? I did not know this. That fact changes everything.

    Also, it has been pouring almost everyday here in GA too. We routinely have a lake in our backyard.

    • dragonflyzia says:

      Let me know the morning you wake up with random ducks in your yard lake…..that’s the best! Yes one of my accounts…a little ma and pa office sent me shredded frozen zucchini earlier this season. They have been my garden mentors this year, I have a lot of questions and they have a lot of answers.

  3. Purely.. Kay says:

    Oh my goodness. I heard about people getting flooded with a lot of rain in some parts but wow. And your daughter sounds absolutely adorable Princess of the Whales… lol.. I loved that.

    • dragonflyzia says:

      She is adorable most of the time! 🙂 She definitely makes me laugh. The lake is gone today but my yard is seriously soggy. I am happy that I shared a smile with you! 🙂

  4. I live in Ohio as well and agree … gotta love it lol On the positive end I’ve not had to water my garden much! 🙂

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

