How Do People Do It?

I don’t understand how people can get up everyday put their blinders on and turn on auto pilot. I can’t not care, it’s not in me. I am not going to complain about work, mostly because I don’t want to relive it.

Right about the time I got busted singing in my car, I started paying attention to the faces I see in the morning. There is one red light that I get everyday and as I sit there I watch the faces as they make the turn. First I must say…..ladies stop squinting and put some shades on! The sun is rising as it does most mornings…how many wrinkles are you getting from that one turn that you make every day?

Most people have a blank expression, you know the auto pilot look. There is one face that I pass every day like clock work and she is my favorite. She is a young girl or at least she looks young and she drives a big honkin’ bus. She has the biggest smile every morning and she is the only other person who I see that sings and car dances. Sometimes she sings but she is always smiling. I wonder how she would feel if she knew that she made me smile Monday through Friday?

I teared up a little there….wonder what that was all about…oh wait that’s right….just another little ride on the peri-menopausal roller coaster.

I sent off that application with my resume that I mentioned the other day.  There will be so many, my only hope is that whoever is doing the opening is drawn to my dragonfly circle return address labels that I usually reserve for my closest friends.

I haven’t written a letter for a while, I think that my yoga teacher deserves one. She stayed for class when I was the only one who showed up…which never happened before. She is definitely a keeper, as long as she teaches, I will be there.

I canned 3lbs of green beans tonight….well I am calling them pickle sticks. I won’t touch another green bean this season. My aunt…the master knitter, who can also grow anything…donated the fresh dill. I haven’t figured out how I will put that on the labels, I will have to play with some words, but I will come up with something.

It’s past my bedtime so I better go. Remember to smile on your commute tomorrow…Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How Do People Do It?

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

