The Little Things

I survived another day, three days in a row without tears, that’s huge! I did get a little misty eyed when I talked to my old lab manager, luckily it was brief, or I may have really cried.

I would really rather not discuss work, but I will say I did drop off another application on my way home from work. I still haven’t figured out how to get fired though.

I canned another batch of the caponata, this time it simmered for 18 hrs and I was a tad heavy on the red pepper flakes so it has a kick. The actual recipe only calls for it to cook twenty minutes, there is a huge difference in the flavors this time around.

Today is my son’s last day at P.T.’s……it is not my fault if the poor cat has her days and nights mixed up…..just sayin’.  I do find it funny that she repeatedly turns his Xbox off on him, that’s one smart cat. 🙂 They do get along though, I guess that’s a good thing.

Since the boy was gone and I bought him more food last night, I just stopped by briefly to check on him. I fried up a big green tomato and some zucchini for the girl to go with the chicken.  There are few things better in this world than a fried fresh green tomato.1990-film-Lord-of-the-Flies

The girl watched Lord of the Flies last night, while I was chopping vegetables for the caponata. It was funny listening to her comments while I was in the other room.  It was in color so it must have been a newer version…without the cannibalism. 

There was the “we don’t learn this survival stuff in school, why not? They all have a pocket knife, I want a pocket knife. We are a country school with a lot of hunters, we should learn this stuff, why don’t we?”

“Did a pedifile make this movie because these little boys are dancing in the ocean?” Me…are they naked?” girl “no, but they are wearing underwear in the water…can you say wet tshirt concert on the other end , omg I’m scarred for life!”

Me “what’s next are you going to say why didn’t they use their cell phones?” Girl….”like they would get reception out there!”

Then the final response was “I watched that whole movie and not one person ate another..are you sure you know what this is about?”  My response….”do you really want to read about boys stranded on an island dancing around in their underwear?”  girl…”no”….me “To Kill a Mockingbird is on the book shelf, quit whining it’s a classic, go read it.” It’s  hard work to get a kid to read a book these days!

One of the few things I like about their school is that they have to read in the summer. One elective and one off the list, she has already read the second Percy Jackson book and that was her choice and she started Mockingbird today. I even have the movie so when she is done she can invite the other girls to watch the dreaded black and white movie…..someday they will get it.

I seem to feel better if I at least try one different way to get out of my job each day, that and well I have been burning quite a bit of sage this week!  Happy hump day……Zia

PS. I did get the sweetest card in the mail today! Thanks BV that was really sweet….summer 2013 adventures 062

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

