Is It Just Me?

It never ceases to amaze me….the things that my daughter has payed attention to. She sends me a text and asks me if I want an old European trunk? Of course I do and she knew I would.

The price I had to pay for this free antique? Speaking in a civil manner to my former mother in law. She is one of those people who is so ugly on the inside and only feels good about herself when she is tearing down another.

A little side story for those who may think that I am exaggerating….when I worked in custom framing the priest that married me to my ex husband came in to get something framed. I said in a joking manner that I hope I didn’t hurt his numbers since I was divorced. His response “ooh yeah she was a rough one” and I NEVER even mentioned her. Just sayin’.

This chest that she so casually wanted to throw to the curb was her mothers. It carried all of her mother’s belongings from Europe to America. I hope that I never understand or have a first hand account of why one would hate their mother….but this is a family heirloom?!

The girl rescued it because she knows I will save it and she will be the new keeper of the trunk. It’s a good thing that I have a lot of sandpaper.summer 2013 adventures 063

I think originally it may have been green….summer 2013 adventures 066

I won’t remove the original hardware, but I will have to add new since I am just winging it.summer 2013 adventures 064

My daughter’s job will be removing the ugly contact paper…icksummer 2013 adventures 065

Maybe the moth ball smell will leave with the contact paper……hopefully? It is from 1905 it’s bound to have accumulated some smells. I will keep you posted on how well this upcycle is going….

I was running around after my fun day and stopped in to Penney’s because they had a $10.00 off coupon in the paper. I think I did pretty good on this deal. Original price $50.00, on clearance for $27.99, with coupon the total was $19.20. It’s a mans large, so it will be way more comfortable than the woman’s clingy version.summer 2013 adventures 069

The annual craft/artisan event was this weekend so SB and I went today. My big splurge…the one I purchased the American way….I charged it…..I am so in love with. When I took it up to the register the wife of the man who handcrafted it…physically hugged it and said “I really love this one.”summer 2013 adventures 067My favorite feature….summer 2013 adventures 068The buffalo nickel.

It’s leather so it will last forever but I am still not comfortable spending $69.00 on a purse…..actually I love it so much I don’t even feel guilty, ok just a little. SB assured me that this was not an extreme purchase and it was ok.  I bust butt at work and I wanted this and now I have it. They do have a website……I haven’t looked at it but they are from Mt. Vernon Ohio and their company is Down Home Leather. The sweet man who made the purse told me (because I was not sure about the 3/4 in strap) that if it didn’t feel sturdy enough he would mail me a new strap. THAT is good customer service. I was so grateful that he made the perfect purse for me….I did tell him and they were just the sweetest couple. 🙂 People like this are the ones who deserve my money!!

If just one other person read my words and consciously made a choice and purchased something that was made with love….ok maybe not love but pride and intention…and they shared it with one other person….we could change the world, or at least make a difference. Is it just me…am I crazy…well er?

I took SB with me to PT’s for breakfast, it was fun. when we left and were driving away in the car SB said it perfectly “I think I want to be PT when I grow up” They have met before but it was brief so this was nice for me to hang out with them in a more social setting. 

On a scale from 1-10 today was definitely a 13!……..Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Is It Just Me?

  1. The penguins, ugh not the Pens. I guess it could be worse, you could have purchased a Red Wings or Blackhawks sweatshirt

  2. crazygirl20 says:

    Wow. Hope you can fix it up, it’ll look nice.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

