Catching Up……

In my craziness of a weekend there were a few things I didn’t have a chance to talk about. Let’s start with book club on Friday. Our book this time was The Forgotten Garden by Kate Morton3407877

I enjoyed this book immensely! I loved the parallel time lines and all of the characters….and the mystery was a woven beautifully into the story. The discussion however varied a little more than normal. Something happened…. a moment of animosity over discussion questions? I was on the other side of the table so I am still not sure?

I will say that our little book club crasher was full of enthusiasm….it was refreshing. She was so happy to have new non couple friends…..that concept is very foreign to me….it was very cute. I think because she is a professor and her husband is a math professor, my guess (pure speculation) is that her life has been a little dry and very proper…..no wonder she loves us. She said she doesn’t read fiction and she loved this book so much that she bought all of the authors books and read the book club one twice. She is a nice addition if I didn’t already say that. 🙂 Definitely a keeper!

When SB and I were at the craft/artisan show on Sunday we had a fried tomato bacon sandwich…it was summer heaven! Tonight I fried up some bacon and in the bacon grease (I think that may be the secret) I fried a big green tomato from my garden. I packed it for my lunch tomorrow, I really hope that it is as good cold as it was warm. Bread, bacon, and lightly breaded green tomato makes a hell of a sandwich!

when-harry-met-sally-poster-428628

My daughter dragged me off to the movie store, so I picked a few classics for her to watch. This is always a challenge, tonight we are watching this one. She isn’t complaining too bad…yet.

I survived two days of work already this week. I almost cried today but I was able to hold back the tears. SB encouraged me to stick it out….if they fire me, I will make on unemployment what I would at a new job. I have to thicken my skin…..I am trying….Zia

 

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Catching Up……

  1. Purely.. Kay says:

    Oh my goodness.. I love When Harry Met Sally. I had to get older to appreciate it though. I hope your daughter loved it. It is a classic

    • dragonflyzia says:

      She watched most of it….I don’t think she is over the time I made her watch What Happened To Baby Jane with Bette Davis and Joan Crawford…or Steel Magnolias she wasn’t a fan of that one either. Breakfast Club,Top Gun, The Goonies…the original Footloose and Karate Kid..she likes most of the movies I make her watch. She looks at them differently than I did when they first came out. Dirty Dancing….I never looked at it as a pedifile movie or that he was too old for her…that’s how she saw it though. I’ll never forget the look on her face when she said “is that even legal..he is way older than her mom?” Kids you never know what they are going to say!

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

