If It Doesn’t Move….Paint It!

I still don’t have a roof and since I live in Ohio where it has rained all summer…..last night was a blast…not! There is a chance that the storms coming through tonight will miss us, fingers crossed.  My neighbor is going to fix it, and I bought all of the supplies, but I am at the mercy of his spare time. It is what it is, I’m lucky I have a neighbor willing to do it.

The hallway is painted, picture and mirror hung, and waiting on my crow vinyl. I found it on Etsy and it’s shipping from Ohio so I should have it any day. I will post a photo when it is complete. I even polished the floor…did I mention it is a teeny hallway. 🙂

I touched up the paint on the kitchen cabinets. with their age and the roughness of the kids it needed that little pick me up. The paint is two years old and there isn’t that much left, so I decided to paint an old three shelf cubby thingy. How is that for a technical description?

It was my moms and it was just in it’s natural wood with chicken wire over the three doors. She kept a little t.v. on it and it was in the kitchen.  I painted it cream, ripped out the wire, covered foam board with fabric and attached it where the wire was. That was ten years ago so it was pretty beat up….and I should have taken a picture but I didn’t think about that until after I started ripping it apart. I rarely remember the before pictures…I’m working on it. I will use up the rest of the black paint…no problem. I usually remember the after photo, so eventually you will get the visual.

I also turned that 4 quarts of juiced tomatoes into 4 quarts of yummy tomato soup. Just imagine in the fall….brown some ground sausage add it to the broth with some little noodles, add some mozzarella cheese and voila…pizza soup. I wish I had more tomatoes. I made my house a million degrees by canning it tonight, but I didn’t want it to go bad.

I get a lot more accomplished when I don’t have to cook dinner and it’s still too early to start whining that the kids have been gone too long. I will feel better when that roof is fixed so I can get in there and fix the ceiling and start painting my sons room. When that room is back in order it will be a huge load off.

I was looking around at everything last night and it never occurred to me before but I have changed every single room except the bathroom (that has been on my list for months and I am shooting for some of that this week) in the last two years. Maybe it is to make sure that there are no Cockroach remnants, or maybe I just like to change my mind. Mostly I just need a sense of order that always seems to be right out of my grasp….Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

