Now I Remember…..

2012

I just heard that Kohl’s will be opening at 8pm on Thanksgiving…..because family no longer matters……it’s all about the bottom line.  I was all about the fun and chaos of shopping at 5am….it was tradition and it was fun and helped put me in the spirit.

Last year was the first year I made my little stand and didn’t participate. I made the same purchases that I would have made but in my pajamas at the computer at home. Nobody had to leave their family for me to get a deal. It’s just not fair.

Working at Pier 1 has messed with my holiday clock anyway….I was in a mad panic to get my Thanksgiving cards done….when I thought about when I needed to get them in the mail….I realized that it was still October.  I felt behind and now I am super early….it’s all very confusing.

To really put it in perspective…….it’s not even Halloween yet!!!!

In a consumer driven society everything is in our faces so early….and then we wonder why the days seem to fly by.

If everybody took the time to make just one gift instead of buying it…it would make a difference.

If we all practiced buying with intention…..it would make a difference.

If we all took the time to put the thought into a present…it would make a difference.

If we all shopped locally and from a small business owner it would make a difference.

How many other ways am I forgetting?

When the kids and I made the list of 12 last year it made a huge difference in the way I shopped……it was a vast improvement.

https://onceuponthewingsofadragonfly.wordpress.com/2012/10/21/its-a-dog-eat-dog-world/

I have already gone to my list of 12 this year and the kids are still game. The only thing that I have for them so far is their ornaments….which fall under the tradition category.  It was so nice last year to not buy crap because it was a good deal…even if they didn’t need or want it. I was soooo guilty of that, but I am better now.

I am blogging about Christmas in October…..but I am trying to find the line between being prepared and enjoying the holidays….and fighting the crazy buy buy buy things that nobody needs or wants.

So if I look at it like that…….

Thanksgiving cards…..check

Having all of the ladies in the family participate in a family cookie recipe collaboration…..check

Canning my butt off to make food gifts……check

Clothes for my nephews…..that they toss aside to get to the toy….check

I wouldn’t say that I am ahead but I have a good start.

Is anybody else obsessing…..or is it just me…..Zia

 

 

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Now I Remember…..

  1. guitargrl325 says:

    I agree with this so much. My husband has worked retail basically our entire marriage and most of our dating relationship. We have NEVER had a full Thanksgiving. Either he has to go to bed at like 6pm so that he can get up at 2 or 3 am to head into work OR as of late, actually go to work on Thanksgiving evening.

    This year will be our first “normal” thanksgiving because he now works from home(same company just in home on a computer as opposed to going to the store). We are actually traveling to visit his parents down in Florida and he’ll just bring his laptop and work from there if necessary.

    I refuse to shop at any stores on Black Friday out of protest.

    • dragonflyzia says:

      I am so glad that it is not just me! You are a perfect example of what I am trying to say…thanks for your comment…it helps to prove my point!! Now if we could get others to follow……

  2. Ivie says:

    That picture is hilarious! But it’s sooo annoying. My mom works at Kohls and told me about them opening at 8 on Thanksgiving. I feel like saying, that’s a little rude. It’s not even Black Friday at that point. They should call it the Thanksgiving sale. Where they can give thanks that everything’s so cheap. This time of year always gets on my nerves.

    • dragonflyzia says:

      I’m sorry that your mom has to give up some of her Thanksgiving….it’s not right and that’s why I no longer participate. There is not a material thing out there that is worth as much as time with family and friends. Thanks for sharing Ivie! 🙂

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

