New Year, New Moon, New Me

I should start with Happy New Year! I hope that everybody found a way to celebrate with the people they love. I split my night between home with the kids and PT’s party. That woman was born to entertain and I really had to tear myself away…it was fun.WP_20131231_005and everything was so sparkly and festive!

The most flattering thing ever……the music of the night came from all of my girl night out cd’s. The motown one had the most play.  It really made me feel happy and a little proud. 🙂

I have been seriously considering getting rid of some major things…Pt’s friend L and I had a long talk. I gave her my mothers wedding band (she owns a jewelry store)…..I need to let her go….SHE never wore the ring when she was still married to my dad…..I just need to let her go and if I could pay off a small piece of my debt with it…..than yipee for me.

L gave me a Jacob Marley like talk also???? She is a successful business owner, the few times that I have been in a social setting with her she has been a lot of fun. She has a few years on me but she has incredible skin and doesn’t look her age at all. What do you say to someone who says to you “don’t be me….take a chance on someone” I was dumbfounded and I was drinking ginger ale so I was completely sober. My response was something along the lines of “I don’t know if I can” Her advice was to look at it as entertainment, someone to go to the movies with, or a play, or dinner….just do it! Okay? It was very unsettling to say the least.

I came home around nine to hang out the rest of the night with the kids. It was very uneventful….but safe.

I don’t like to use the word resolution, I prefer goal. I am still working on my list…baby steps.

I did make a Valentine’s Day wreath this morning. The girl and I went to Michael’s yesterday. My inspiration was the mask ornament from Pier 1 (50% off) The heart was full price but all of the floral was considered Christmas and was 80% off, I have about $25.00 into this wreath.WP_20140101_011WP_20140101_010

One of my big goals of this year is to organize my photos, the girl emptied nine photo albums that no one looks at. I took a break at point and helped her, there are so many pictures that I won’t keep. I see them bringing a bunch to their father, there are a lot from when the kids were babies and include his parents…again I will be lightening a load. It was a big start.

I also took down the family tree thingy that was on my wall….I didn’t love it and I had things to replace it with. I had the girl interrupt her lounging for this as well.WP_20140101_013

I really enjoyed the twinkle of the lights this year, and I think I found a way to keep a little sparkle throughout the year.WP_20140101_014

I pulled the bat card again this morning, here is a bit of what it means….letting go of old habits and assuming a position to prepare for rebirth…..If you resist your destiny, it can be a long drawn out or painful end…which is usually what happens to me…the universe is asking for me to grow and become my future….easier said than done.

Today I created….cleaned out….cleaned up…and prepared for organization……Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to New Year, New Moon, New Me

  1. Jean says:

    Gotta love any friend who gives you the Jacob Marley-like talk while she is still alive. I hope you thanked her for that.

    I can’t use the words goal or resolution. I prefer intention. That way, if I don’t achieve it, I can always say I intended to. Not really, but it sounds good! Ha! I like the word intention because it sounds very new-age-ish. Cerebral. 😀

    Also, I will take down the candy cane lights and the Christmas tree, but my arborvitae stay lit with multi-colored lights until the days last long enough for me to see sunlight when I come home from work. I call them my solstice lights.

  2. Pingback: Over Thinking…..Again | Once Upon the Wings of a Dragonfly

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

