OMG I’m a Sugar Addict!!

I have been saying for years that processed food was bad and I thought that I had done my part to eliminate most of it. Boy was I fooling myself.

I was reading a recent post http://aprettypennyblog.com/2014/01/28/hungry-for-change/ , so I decided to check it out….I am sooo guilty!! I honestly don’t know if I can give up sugar?!th

I personally know about nutri sweet, I am allergic and I get a horrible migraine if I consume it. Luckily it has a distinct taste so I am mostly able to avoid it…..mostly.

I can give up a lot, but my sweet tea??? My coffee????? Let’s not forget that high fructose corn syrup is in most things and who doesn’t love a little msg?? As a culture we are pretty much screwed!

I thought it was GB’s dad but it turned out to be his grandfather that said it best “this country went to hell when we stopped growing our own food!”

ย  I have really been doing my best and do more daily than most I know, and the reason I fail more than the average person…..I know better.

I struggled and won the battle against nicotine, but sugar….I am not sure I can beat that demon.

How do you work a full time job and churn your own butter? Yes we all know how overly dramatic that I can be, but what’s a girl to do?

When I was sick last week I happened to catch Cameron Diaz on Rachel Ray talking about her “body book” and she said a lot of the same things. How did she put it? “just because you put it in your mouth,chew it, swallow it, and poop it out….doesn’t mean it’s food!” It was something along those lines.

The universe keeps putting the information right in front of me….how long until I am smart enough to listen?….Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to OMG I’m a Sugar Addict!!

  1. I have mostly avoided sugar for quite a while,and the first few days are the hardest. After about 4 days, the cravings really do go away!

  2. Rae says:

    I was able to stay off of sugar amazingly for 6 months during a detox program geared specifically for me 2012/13…and now must go back to the program yet again! Life can throw trauma curveballs at us. It is during these times that we find out 1) how emotionally attached we can be to certain foods/beverages, 2) that we need to look for alternative sources of fulfilling that emotional need. Until we do, OMG! give me sugar! in my case.

    I have since learned that sugar and chocolate can stand in for serotonin, the brain biochemical that helps us feel happy. The spleen, when not working in balance, craves sugar. On another level, sugar can act as a stand in for joy. Spleen issues arise if we feel a lack of joy (combo of TCM and Louise Hay info). Increasing daily vitamin D can help during these dark winter months for those of us north of the equator. I eat most of my grain carbs/sugar from November to February (hence why it still amazes me that I managed 6 months without sugar/grain carbs from November to March, primarily, a few years back).

    Food cravings are crazy and not as straight forward as most people think. They are all wrapped up and connected in multiple ways within the physical and emotional bodies. And yes, eating polluted foods for how many generations now, means we have been slowly ingesting chemical versions of what once was natural. Can we please return to the natural roots of our food? And what were they exactly to begin with? How much of our current DNA/cellular makeup is now chemical soup? Hence the vicious circle of cravings…in my opinion.

    • dragonflyzia says:

      Chemical soup? I may occasionally steal that line, if you don’t mind? You went six whole months without sugar? That is amazing? I can’t get past my chemical coffee creamer.
      I haven’t thought of Louise Hay in a really long time even though I still occasionally use a positive affirmation or two from her cards.
      I agree that natural is best and I try my best to stick to that but it is very hard….as you know.
      Each time I make the effort I manage to change a habit or two for the better. It takes forever!
      I also agree about the vicious circle, I like to think that every little bit help but it really is a circle. Thank you for commenting!! ๐Ÿ™‚

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

