Bring on the Light!!

Say what you will about poor Phil’s predictions, today is the hump day of winter. The birds have been singing their little hearts out the last two mornings. When I woke up yesterday I honestly thought I was dreaming that beautiful sound. I feed the birds so they have been here all winter and the only ones that I have heard is the crow,the hawk, and the occasional cardinal. Those are the signs that I look for and birds singing is a good sign.

Then I had my neighbors outside fighting this morning, well mostly her yelling and swearing all before she even painted her eyebrows on… I’m sure. She took it outside…another sign of spring.

My daughter had another archery lesson yesterday, this time she brought her own bow. My brother calls her a purist because she doesn’t like the cross bow and in the same breath pointed out how she likes to do things the hard way…..just like her mother. (little brothers…what can you do?) She did very well, but her bow is too strong for teaching, she needs a 28lb bow? It makes no sense to me, all I know is I can’t even move the string on her bow, but she can….dead on center.

She said she was watching the girl next to her with a compound bow, she said to me ” there is a level like for the wall, a sight and things to make the string feel light. I just aim, release and hope for the best.” I think that I may have a sign made for her with those very words. Isn’t that what we do every day? From the mouth of babes! Mmmmm my nephews have birthdays coming up, they both started with archery because of her…..and they love her to pieces….maybe I will have three signs made???? It’s a thought.

My brother lives about 25 minutes away, so I had some serious thinking time on my hands. I realized some things after dinner with SB on Friday night. I like old a whole lot better than new. She hit the nail on the head with every single present. (we have seen each other since Christmas, but it’s been book club or yoga, this was our first chance for just us)

She found this lady who makes scarves out of upcycled sweaters, it is the softest thing!WP_20140131_007

Then she found an upcycled tissue cover….I may try and copy this one.WP_20140131_009

The she gave me this and let’s see if I can type without getting all misty eyed.WP_20140131_005

This watch belonged to SB’s mom who passed last year ( who I loved and still miss every month at book club). My mom used to buy Kirk’s Folly stuff for me all of the time. So now when I wear this watch I will be carrying a piece of her mom and memory of mine…..damn…I’m such a cry baby.

Then I found this on Pinterest and I swear I was either born in the wrong time or the wrong place and this house ….that I have no idea where it lives but it needs me…dream home

Have you ever seen anything so beautiful? It’s too big for a single family but remember how I love to feed people? This would make a kick ass bed and breakfast….and then I really could work from home. Somebody told me yesterday that I should teach classes on all of the things that I do….doesn’t everybody else have Google and Pinterest? I would teach anyone who wants to know……yes I definitely do not possess the how to make money gene.

This morning I had breakfast at PT’s which is always yummy. Happy Birthday again KC!!! For some reason when I start my week this way….it just seems to go better. 🙂

I also had a wonderful lunch with CG and CM, I always have a good time when the three of us get together.  Now I am trying to make soup with little or no msg, I am going to miss my Knorr cubes. 😦 I have calmed down some after Hungry for Change, and I am not going to throw out the stuff that I normally use. I may not re buy it but I won’t waste what I have. I am trying some dandelion greens in the soup this week so I guess we will see.

I wish everybody a good 1st week of February, try and notice the little things….like how the light is growing every day, and listen for the sweet songs of the birds…..Zia

 

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bring on the Light!!

  1. Can’t wait for spring. I’m enjoying the light growing longer each day. Have a great week

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

