Where Do I Begin?

First I feel we should all pause and give tribute to Shirley Temple who was talented on so many different levels! She truly was an amazing woman and this was a song my grandfather sang to me when I was little…

That just needed to be said.

I received a beautiful Valentines Day card in the mail today. If you remember I tend to hide on this day but a card from KW is art and I will take it whenever I can get it! This is the card…WP_20140211_001

In case you forgot, I will remind you of my curse…https://onceuponthewingsofadragonfly.wordpress.com/2013/02/14/happy-heart-day/

Tim at http://frontrangescribbles.com/ asked the question “why flat?” Why I don’t care for mountainous terrain….well, I was about this tallWP_20140211_003

I am guessing I was about 8 and this picture was taken when we were in Colorado, visiting an old army buddy of my fathers. This man who had a mustache that resembled Yosemite Sams drove like an asshole. I remember holding on for dear life as he floored it up the mountain and around the bends as my mother screamed. I was terrified.

Oddly enough I can’t remember my fathers reaction?Ā  Maybe this was the moment that I wrote him off? Honestly I can’t remember, but my brother and I still go toe to toe over him filling my dad in on my life. That is something that you earn, it is not a right.

Anyways……this is where I think that I developed my irrational fear of heights and bends…..I will save bridges for another day. I vaguely remember a stone stadium? Maybe? I was traumatized but that is the image that is at the end of that story…..that happened a million years ago!

That is why I prefer flat land.

I did make a little trip to a store that I discovered when SB and I had dinner a couple of Fridays ago. I brought a gravy boat that I never used from the set of Lenox china from my wedding. Why do I still have it? The guy said the last one that sold on Ebay fetched $129.00….holy crap! They get a cut but it’s china and I really don’t have the time to mess with the wrapping and the insurance, so I started with one piece. Any amount of money is more that the dust collecting that it was doing.

My plan is to pay off some bills. My little brother (from picture above) would have a fit if he knew how much “rebuilding” I was doing with my credit. Oh well, it’s one more thing out of my house and one more weakness shared…….Zia

 

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Where Do I Begin?

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

