Wahoo, I Played in the Dirt!!

We finally had two nice days in a row….on a weekend!!! The grass is turning green and the trees are ready to burst with fresh leaves…it’s almost here. Let’s all just ignore Tuesday night’s forecast of snow…okay?

I am all about letting go of things that no longer serve me and that includes landscaping. My original plan was to get rid of all of the grass in front of the porch. I wanted a wild and free English garden feel, what I ended up with was a neglected piece of land that the boy was afraid to mow. He doesn’t have to fear running over a random plant any longer….the girl and I ripped it all out. We only left the lilac bush, which is now sporting a new layer of mulch.WP_20140413_004

I have decided that less is more. I have a few spots where things have come up for years….everything else I covered with landscape fabric. I have two whiskey barrels and the girl is insisting on a third and that is it. She also picked the black mulch, I usually go with the boring brown.  No more bushes or little trees in front of the porch! WP_20140413_003

The leaves and dog poop were out of control in this area. It is all cleaned up now, I even cleaned out a few years of accumulated leaves out of the gutters. I am hoping that will help some with the basement since the first drain company pooped out on me. I will figure it out, I always do.

It was a very long day today and the poor boy was pushed to the limit. He was a good sport and we did get the last big tree (that we could still dig/pull out) out of the former blackberry mess. He also held the ladder for me while I cleaned out the gutters and helped me lay twelve bags of mulch, and filled up the two whiskey barrels with dirt. That was way more physical labor than he is used to, and to be honest…. I am right there with him!

I have also discovered that I like Pinot Noir and I settled down with a glass or two of this to watch Once Upon a Time tonight.WP_20140413_002

It seemed fitting in a way that only makes me chuckle…..Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wahoo, I Played in the Dirt!!

  1. Your Tuesday forecast was my weather today. Snow, in April, even for CO that is rare. Glad it was only on the grass. A nice glass of wine is a good way to end a weekend. Have a great week.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

