Reality Check

money

One of my neglected New Year’s resolutions was to face my money. I kept meaning to……..and then my eye opener came yesterday. I had two calls from my credit card company and all I can say is thank you Merrick Bank for paying attention, because I sure wasn’t!  I honestly don’t remember using this card since Christmas time except for a purchase at Ulta last week for like $20.00. Somebody charged $75.00 to Craigslist and tried to spend $300.00 at a specialty shop in Utah. I don’t have that much available credit so that one didn’t go through but I have paperwork to fill out to get rid of the $75 charge that did.

Then the panic came, I went to Ulta twice that week and the other time I used my debit card, which is all the money I have in this world. Thank the Goddess that it’s so far so good, but I will have to check everyday, which translates into facing my money. Was it Ulta or some random hack? I honestly don’t know, but I am awake and paying attention now.

I also have been meaning to track my spending because I think that I buy or charge too many wants and I need to get back to only worrying about my needs. I need to start challenging myself more when it comes to clothes.  I need to stop saying I want to and actually start trying the refashion projects that I want to try. Do I still get to buy my Altered Couture? I used my 20% Barnes and Noble coupon on the new issue today.ALT-200x200

I did stop at a rummage sale and filled a bag of possible upcycles for a $1.00…….maybe after the whole trying to pass the ABO thing.

I did start the logging notebook that I purchased in January, that I keep moving around but not using. Please excuse my penmanship, it kept me off the honor roll for years…..WP_20140503_002

There was a big Powerade sale, 15 for $9.00, the kids like their processed sugar and the girl likes hers with Red 40. I think maybe I will add a “need” “want” column….maybe?

If all of that wasn’t enough, I went down to the basement to wash a load of towels and there was about 4inches or so of water down there???? I pumped some, got tired of waiting and stopped to do a load which all ends up in the basement anyways, so now towels are drying and pump is pumping. I couldn’t win if I tried at this point. I should have known something was up when I couldn’t shake the chill I had…..it was the water.

The weird thing is….I’m not stressing about it? Everything always works out in the end and now…….. I am just grasping at straws here……Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Reality Check

  1. Jean says:

    Oh i need to face the money too. It’s a challenge.

  2. dotren says:

    Go to your bank and get a new debit card. It’s pretty simple and it will save you a lot of worry over someone using your card.
    I had to do it when some online scumbag got ahold of my card number.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

