I Still Stand by Change

I have been saying it for months and months……something is coming. I don’t know what it is but it’s coming and I hope it’s something good. Some days the feeling isn’t so bad but today it is super strong, butterflies in your stomach strong. It’s just a feeling but it’s there and it’s unnerving.

Today the girl and I did some running around and since we had to stop at the mall…..the girl was so disappointed that Build a Bear was sold out of the Toothless doll. That’s what she wanted for her report card….really…she’s 16 I swear!toothless

I think that I may try to find her a substitute until they come back in. I loved the first movie and I can’t wait for the next one and I’m 43. Apple…tree…..I know! 🙂

When we were out I stopped into Dillards to try and find some tank tops….no such luck. I really like the brand One World they have there so I ended up charging 3 shirts….that were on clearance….$75.00…YIKES!  That made me come to the next crazy idea I am going to try and implement. I will not buy new jeans or pants until I lose weight (unless I find a waitress job and need a uniform) Shirts….this is where I am getting brave.

How many times have you heard me say that I really want to take the time and learn to upcycle clothes? A lot! So here is my challenge….holding my breath……..6 mos….a year…..6 mos….a year……A year! For one year I will not buy another shirt or skirt. I will accept hand me downs because….well those are always the best, but everything else has to come from a thrift store and if need be….upcycled. Since I know myself all too well…this is not an excuse to buy fabric…if I do not have the fabric I need on hand than it to must be from another piece of   clothing that is screaming “upcylcle me!”

Let’s hope that I am not crazy or unrealistic but I am thinking two birds….one stone. Sometimes I just have to make myself do things outside of my comfort zone. Three shirts $75.00 at a clearance price is just not acceptable and there has to be a way around it.

On my way to meet PT last night I stopped by Olive Cabbage’s and hit the canning jar mother load! It’s hard to see but there are four big crates in there.ebay and crows

There were even overflow boxes in the backseat. I am ready to start preserving again. Last year I played around a lot with jellies and jams, etc. Those were great for gifts and experimenting but this year it’s about preserving for the winter ahead. I have all of the jars that I could ever need, it’s time to get busy.

The kids and I went to my Aunt and Uncle’s today for fathers day, it always feels good when you hear how everything that you have canned and given away has been awesome and how you have a knack. It is more of a gift I think, maybe even a little instinctual on the mixing aspect, regardless it’s nice to be appreciated.

This is only a four day week for me, let’s hope that it’s not too stressful. Happy Father’s Day to all of the dads out there……..Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

