Mom We Are Dorks!

The girl learned another life lesson this weekend…….thank you Barnes and Noble. It started innocently enough on Friday night with the first night of festivities, which was basically a big table with free chapter sample books. Some were for the girl, some for my nephew and some were for me. The boy who was with us that first night didn’t show any interest at all. This was our loot….WP_20140718_001

Now I have a reminder when the final book in this series comes out. This was the first series that the girl read….I talked her into it. 🙂 Now we have a beagle that was named after the main character.WP_20140718_002

Saturday was the costume contest at noon, which we won by default. I pulled out my Lenore costume and the girl wore her Rick Grimes costume (with capris and flip flops). Nobody else showed up, the girl was so embarrassed! I told her that it could of been worse…..I didn’t have to dress up with her. Even her ears were red when she said “Mom we are big dorks!” This was our Saturday loot….WP_20140719_003

She has wanted that Batman book for awhile, this was my prize.WP_20140719_004

She went as Rick Grimes and won a Rick Grimes bobble head. We took our $1.00 off coupons (for participating) to the Starbucks cafe and had our coffee and went through our bags.

We laughed all day over this experience! She was so happy at her prize and mine that she seemed to forget how embarrassed she was. We made up ways that it could be worse….my favorite was “what if they make our picture really big and put it on display?” My response “I had a mask on, nobody will ever know it was me!” 🙂

Then she says to me “Mom, I don’t think other mothers and daughters have this kind of fun.” The fact that she is 16 and still wants to hang out with me is a miracle in itself, I will take it for as long as I can get it!

Once we were back home I started canning, sometimes it’s a curse that I never write anything down. I made a chardonnay apricot jelly that was a big hit last year. I found this at Sam’s club…WP_20140719_005

I paired it with this wine, that turned out to be quite tasty.WP_20140719_006

I think that it may have turned out too sweet….I need feedback, I’ll have to take some to work. I also did my first batch of pickle sticks and I did four pints of actual pickles as well. I also made the peach vanilla butter that has been popular at Christmas two years in a row. Since it’s not my recipe, I took this picture of the page from Mary Jane’s Farm Magazine.WP_20140719_009

It was only 73 degrees on Saturday, and for me since I don’t have air conditioning it was the perfect time to get a jump start on canning. I am trying to be better about canning stuff for us to eat in the winter and to not focus as much on gift giving, with the exception of the pickle sticks. Who knew how popular a dilly bean could be?

I tried to explain to the girl that she has come from a long line of women who cook instinctively, and that she needs to start trying her hand at it. She looked at me like I asked her to walk naked across the yard. That whole conversation ended with me convincing her that maybe she would be the one to finally write it all down.

Do you remember that bad haircut that I received last month? I have been trying to think of a way out of my appointment without feelings being hurt…it was the strangest thing. She text me in the morning to see if I had an appointment because she erased a name but didn’t know who? What kind of luck was that? I really should have played the lottery on Saturday now that I think about it. She keeps texting me now and even called once in a panic almost. Maybe if she payed that much attention to my hair….. I am there every four weeks, make my hair pretty and I will pay you….seems simple. The last time was the last bad hair cut she will ever give me and believe me it wasn’t the first. I hate trying to find somebody who is good and affordable, that is really hard! I will hate every minute of the search but I have also had a bad hair day every day for a month this time. Usually when she messes up it goes away in two weeks, it’s almost like I am supposed to stay motivated, and really how did I get erased from her book? It’s a hair miracle I tell you!!!

Saturday was also my two year anniversary of this blog…..how is that for sticking with something…..Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mom We Are Dorks!

  1. Congrats on winning the costume contest even if it is by default, a win is a win. 🙂 Congratulations on your blogging anniversary, may you have many more. Have a great week and thank you for all of your support.

  2. Pingback: Soggy Salvage | Once Upon the Wings of a Dragonfly

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

