The Cookie Table

When the kids and I were on our outing yesterday I picked up a fundraiser cookbook for the mill that we had visited. I like it so much that it will be part of any wedding present in the future…local anyway.

Last night the girl was watching Castle as I leafed through my new cookbook that brought back so many memories of my childhood. Some of the stories remind me of the ones that my uncle tells…..he is the best, most animated story teller!

Then I made my way to the cookie section….I looked at the girl in total amazement. She tilted her head as she asked “what’s wrong?” I had found the cookie table gold mine! WeddingCookies

This brought about a deep discussion over the cookie table. As she pointed out many of you might not know to what we are referring….. In our neck of the woods the thing that makes or breaks your wedding is the cookie table. My mom was like the cookie table police and it was never about what the bride wore it was about the cookies on that table.

Since we had a few family weddings within the past couple of years I asked the girl if she remembered what the wedding cake looked like. “What cake? There was a cake? I only remember the cookies!” My mom would be so proud!

This cookbook tugged at my heart strings and reminded me of a time when family came first. I am proud of my heritage and where I come from which brought about an ugly truth. Yes it really gets to me how little that the sun shines here, but…….if I didn’t have a crazy stalker ex….I wouldn’t be in such a hurry to leave. That’s pretty sad, isn’t it?

This morning was the test, not only did I have to face the wicked hill that I face every time that I visit my brother…..I had to face it in the pouring (seriously…monsoon like) rain. I drove past the place once but I did have plenty of time to get there. I took the test and yes….I passed it. I can’t wait to see what comes next……Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Cookie Table

  1. Never heard of the cookie table. Growing up in MO I don’t ever remember one at any weddings I had been to.

    • dragonflyzia says:

      Sometimes when something always is…..you think everybody knows. Cookie table and wedding soup those are things that seem to have stopped at Ohio. If you ever have a chance to go to a wedding in the northeast be sure and check it out. 🙂

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

