When Did I Become Such a Chicken?

20140109-165941If you had taken any of the things that I have said in the history of this blog….especially my fears and traveled back to my high school and repeated them….they would have laughed and laughed. I wasn’t afraid of anything…..don’t tempt the Universe….you will lose every time.  Did this happen after my kids were born?….or after my mother died? I am not sure and it drives me crazy! I am such a chicken.

There is a party up north for my little cousin who graduated med school this year, the debate this week is….do I drive or ride with? I am leasing a soul so I can actually drive out of my 1/2 hour comfort zone.

PT invited me over to dinner tomorrow……I will need it! After the drive to and from the kids will be glad to get rid of me!  I lived up north for a while, through both pregnancies actually. We moved a little closer to home when I was 6 months pregnant with the girl….she will be 17 next month…that was a long time ago and boy am I old! I am just not used to driving in bigger cities. Even when I lived up there I used the park system instead of the freeways. If I get too lost someone can talk me through it and more than half of the drive is turnpike and that’s easy peasy.

I have chopped my way to calm tonight…..work still sucks in a completely hostile way. GB grew some pretty amazing eggplants this year and since he shared I have a large pot of caponata simmering right now. The publication that I found the recipe that I mostly followed is this one, and it’s available again this year….WP_20140815_001

The caponata or lemon basil eggplant salsa type concoction was very popular last year, so when someone offers you eggplant…..always say yes. I will make eggplant parmesan with the rest and who doesn’t love that?!

Happy Friday, enjoy your weekend…….Zia

 

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

