Just an Average Day

I am ending my day watching one of my favorite movies…..it was a long day and for some reason this movie always makes me feel better.

Today at work was just like any other we were short handed and I am emotionally exhausted…..but who wants to talk about that? Not me!

We did have some floods yesterday……now someone explain this to me please.  It can rain very little in the spring and I have 3 inches of water in my basement. It rains like this…..WP_20140820_001 WP_20140820_002

my front yard usually doesn’t have a lake in it……and there is only water at the drain and a big puddle in the back room (I am convinced it’s related to the down spout). I just don’t get it!

I receive a message from BM today…..I really hope no one ever picks up the phone and says ugh do I have to call her back when I call……and I feel bad that I do that, but really most days I never want to talk to her. I called her back and omg her daughter has cancer….she is just turning 20. This girl grew up at my house and she is a good kid….her parents may be a hot mess but she is a good kid….it’s just horrible. I will make the effort to check in once a week because I love that kid, but the first time BM brings up the Cockroach I am going to say 68% of the things that I hold in whenever I talk to her……in theory.  Maybe if I just put her in her place things will be better…..yeah I doubt that….control….and hold my breath and I will get through it.

I was at Dillards earlier this evening….finding the perfect black polo….flatters and hides at the same time AND was on clearance with an extra 40%off.  Anywho I was coming out of the dressing room when I heard a loud pompous voice, followed by a young girl walking to find another co worker while bawling her eyes out. It took everything I had not to walk up to him and ask him if he felt manly because he traumatized that young girl. Grrrrr sometimes people are just assholes.

Thank goodness tomorrow is Friday, one more day of soul sucking work and tomorrow night I start training at the winery……yes I am still super excited and I have the perfect polo and everything……Zia

 

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Just an Average Day

  1. LadyPinkRose says:

    Zia, sounds to me like you need BIG (((HUGS))). I am really sorry about the girl …. that really sucks being SO young. Is there any way you can find another job, one that you can like? I work hard, and IF I didn’t LOVE what I do, I would be bonkers by now. Or perhaps I am and I don’t know it. (smile) Hope you have a really good weekend!!! (((HUGS))) again, Amy

    • dragonflyzia says:

      Thanks Amy! 🙂 Yes I agree it does suck….to be that young and so sick. I have been looking for a new job for two years now, there are not a lot of options in my area with the benefits that I have. It all comes down to what I am willing to give up for sanity sake I guess. I hope that you are having a great weekend!

      • LadyPinkRose says:

        Honey, sometimes our mental health is worth the risk. I understand totally about how bills must be paid, etc, yet I really think it is awful that you are paying such a high price. If I were you I would just look on a weekly basis, just to see what your options are. I understand too about the economy and how difficult good jobs are to find. BUT! If you don’t at least try and believe deep in your Heart that yep, there is a better job for you “out there”, change that would be better for you would not come to you. I will keep you in prayer that something does happen and you do see another opportunity that would be much better for you. Yes, I am having a great weekend. I just came back from a bike ride, and I just feel SO happy. I feel JOY again, something that I have not felt in a very LONG time. I’m smiling again! Goodness me!! A miracle has occurred, yes indeed!!!! (((HUGS))) Amy

        • dragonflyzia says:

          I think that it would be very helpful for me to read these words every morning….or at least every other morning. I know you are right and I also know that I am at an unpredictable moment in my life when even I don’t know what I will do next. I am so tired of being afraid…of everything and nothing all at the same time. Thank you so very much Amy for your insightful/inspirational words….it means a lot!…Zia

          • LadyPinkRose says:

            Zia, I understand what it is like to be afraid. It paralyzes you. The only way to overcome that fear, is to do something beyond it. Even if that means checking the employment ads weekly. At least you are doing something that will empower you and lesson the dread, the fear. It takes a lot of courage to overcome fear. I’ve been there many times. BIG (((HUGS))) coming your way!!! Love, Amy

            • dragonflyzia says:

              Thank you for the hugs…who doesn’t need that? 🙂 I do understand what you mean and some days I am more proactive than others. I will figure it out I always do…..eventually. Thanks Amy one again for you wise words, Zia

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

