The Right Thing…..

Book Award covers.Do you remember when I talked about the girl being upset by the book “looking for alaska”? I sat down today and sent an email to her principal…..she is going to be so mad at me. I was not writing an angry parent letter, I just wanted to make him aware. I doubt he knows. I rarely call the school and if I do it’s more than likely to call someone off sick. I also wanted to make sure that he realized that fact. If my daughter read this on her own it would be one thing but this was on the school approved summer reading list.

In Ohio they teach kids to read by using sight words, and I have been complaining about it for the last 13 years.  Stupid…..just plain stupid! I blame a lot of things within the schools on that way of not teaching.  I mentioned it in the letter, so I am trying to explain its relevance.

I remember reading Valley of the Dolls in 7th grade, I also made a brown paper cover to conceal it from my mother. The book had a lot of shock value….there was something about a goldfish….that’s really all I remember. It was definitely not on a school list…..the nuns would have had a stroke!

I encourage any comments, was I too hard? Was I not hard enough? Did I make my point? Should I have just let it go? I would ask if I said too much…..but I always say too much, but that’s who I am. So here goes…..

Hello Principal Nameless,

I hope you enjoyed your summer…it really flew by this year. I am writing this to make you aware, this is not a complaint or a concern. There may be other parents out there who have previously brought this to your attention, and if not…I’ll just leave that one alone. This is concerning the book “looking for alaska” by John Green. I understand that he is popular right now BUT did my daughter really need to read the blow job 101 that started on page 126?

I know that over the course of her life she will read many books that she dislikes and are disturbing. I couldn’t finish the rape scene in “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo” and I had to walk out of the room during that scene in the Swedish film. Some things you can never un-see. The thing is ……this wasn’t on a school approved reading list.

What happened to Wuthering Heights, Canterbury Tales, or even that ridiculous book that I despised in high school The Old Man and the Sea? I just don’t get it and I can’t blame everything on sight words!

I try and leave well enough alone when it comes to things that happen in school, I would rather turn them into a life lesson than to be on the phone with you over silly things. For example this past school year when the girl came home upset that she didn’t receive her perfect attendance certificate because her Grandmother picked her up 15 min. early from  study hall to get her hair cut. When she went down to the office the woman told her “when we say perfect, we mean perfect!” There was no reason for her to be snotty, but this was a good lesson about how life isn’t fair and is full of people with bad attitudes.

I wanted to make you aware of some of the material in this book that was approved by the school, that I feel was inappropriate. I think my job here is done, have a good first week, Zia Odanata (the girl’s mother)

What do you think….did I do the right thing?….Zia

 

 

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Right Thing…..

  1. shel says:

    Great job! I know my niece who is 16 wanted or already has read that book so now I am floored. I was under the impression it was a “teen” read? Then again at this point in my life why should anything shock me! Secondly, why don’t you agree/like sight words?

    • dragonflyzia says:

      It is a teen read and I’m not saying teens shouldn’t read it….I am saying it shouldn’t be on a school approved reading list. Sight words I can go on for days but I will keep it brief. When we were kids we learned to read using phonics. Phonics teaches you how to sound out words and helps in remembering how to spell them. Sight words is just memorizing, so when a kid comes across a word that they have never seen before they have no idea how to tackle it….AKA break it down and sound it out. You’re about to find out….and you thought the hardest part would be putting him on the bus the first time.. 🙂

  2. I just finishing reading it and believe there were some heavy topics covered but am surprised that it was on the high school curriculum.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

