Chicken Little Soup

Well…..it’s actually wedding soup, and I made enough to can. Chicken broth with tiny meatballs requires a pressure canner……here is to hoping I don’t blow up! I am always a big chicken when it comes to the pressure canner, which explains why this is only it’s second time out of the box…..I lived the first time…..obviously 🙂

CG is coming over to dinner on Tuesday and since she bought me this last year for my birthday…WP_20131120_002

I should definitely serve her soup! I have no idea what else I am making, I might just serve some caponata on french bread followed by wedding soup and a big salad. I can change my mind fifty times before Tuesday anyway.

The girl turned 17 yesterday, how did that happen? I felt bad because I had to work the winery last night, but she will have her bonfire with her friends another night. It was an odd night there too…we were crazy busy early and I was home by eleven.

I came home and wrapped Christmas presents…..don’t judge I have my reasons.WP_20140906_001

This is how I wrapped the family history project, if you missed it….

WP_20140901_004

I then wrapped my nephews boring clothes part of their present, and both of my cousins have baby girls and their outfits are wrapped as well. I was going to take them over to my brothers today but my sister in law would like to visit….so I guess it will be next week before I get these presents out of my house.

My brother has a wine cellar so I should probably start my limoncello as well. Just trying to get as many ducks in a row that I can I guess. I should be worrying about the book club book for next Friday instead of Christmas in three months.

The kids go back to their dads tomorrow……again….ugh, the girl is super frustrated. She had two projects due on Wednesday that she wanted to get done……there is something about homework at her dads that she despises. Then about 7:30 she remembers she needs alcohol photos (did I mention that she is doing a poster on the book that I wrote the principal about?….way to throw your mother under the bus) for the project due tomorrow. Thankfully I sold Mary Kay briefly under the girl who works at the local liquor store, they closed at 8. The poster is now done and hopefully I don’t have to hear about the disturbed girl named Alaska again. How many times have you had to go to the liquor store for a high school project?  My point exactly!

Why did she do the 2 projects for Wednesday first? Why am I wrapping Christmas presents in September? Apple……tree I guess!

I just went to turn the burner off of the pressure canner and the boy was in the kitchen putzing around so I took off the pressure regulator…..which led to a big swoosh like I knew it would……I didn’t know that the boy could move so fast. It’s the simple things that amuse me……Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chicken Little Soup

  1. Ok I will display my ignorance again, what is wedding soup?

    • dragonflyzia says:

      It is not your fault, it’s an East coast thing. Chicken broth, obviously with pieces of chicken in it, I use chopped spinach but I am pretty sure that the original recipe calls for endive. It also has the teeniest of pasta called baby pastine with miniature meatballs. I know that Olive Garden as a chain has something that they call wedding soup and it’s fairly close….I wouldn’t eat it…but it’s close. Next time you travel East, I think that Greenwich Village restaurants serve it, so next time that you are in New York……give it a try.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

