Double Standard

At first glance….you may think that this will be a sexist post, it is actually a “how the heck do I rationalize with a mini me post?” I’m so screwed!

mario-and-the-princess

I am very lucky that I have such great kids and I can’t stress this enough. My daughter could be boy crazy and I could stay up late worrying about what she is doing. She could be into drugs or cutting herself….there are many things that she could be doing that thankfully she is not. HOWEVER, the girl has decided that for the homecoming dance that she wants to go as Princess Peach. Now…if she truly wants to than I will do my best to make it as authentic as possible….. but how do I talk her out of it? If I can’t…. PT….I will need you B and sewing vault!

I ran this issue by a few people at work who knew who this character is, and in retrospect that could be why I received the answers that I did. The kid at work who reminds of the boy said ” I never once had any interest to go to a dance in high school, but I never met anybody who wanted to dress up as Princess Peach, I’m only 24….” I changed that subject real quick!

Next was “you gotta love the girl for being brave enough to do that” Not helpful at all.  “That’s an iconic character, how awesome!”  “I have a $2,000.00 credit limit at a bridal store that I will never use…you can pay me back, lets go!” “Wow apple….tree…how does that feel?” Those are the various responses that I received.

In a big way she is mocking the ritual of a high school dance and the pressure to go, even when you don’t have a date or any interest in going. Her friends just want her to go so they will agree to anything to get her there, but if you are going to make a stand and wear something like that….you have to be prepared to face the reactions. Most kids are not no nice, or she will be queen to a minion of geeks….this can end either way.

How can I fault her when I am constantly changing things and downsizing, etc. I stand up for what I believe in….so why am I faulting her? Fear. I can’t gauge peoples reactions or protect her from them and I can’t keep her in a bubble. I don’t want her to get hurt and on the flip side there are many parents out there that would trade situations with me in a nano second…..no thanks I will stick with Princess Peach.

I survived another week at work and boy it was a rough one! How could it not be when I turned down a risky job with potential to be government? Sometimes you have to be very specific when it comes to the Universe…..it’s not just me, I have two kids to think about.

I am loving my I-phone 5c that I got earlier this week, my favorite new app is the BBC news. I also love being able to listen to my I tunes…I have I tunes….I never had that before….I am so easily amused.

I have an appointment on Tuesday for a haircut and how do you think that this cut would look with brown hair….no highlights? Oh and a tad longer.6.-The-Messy-Bob

I am changing everything else so why shouldn’t I go out of my comfort zone with my hair? I like highlights but I feel like I am there forever when I get them, and if I did…..well let’s just say I kinda miss the purple. When did I get so old?

Highlight of the week!…… Earlier this Spring PT and I went to some outlets and I bought this shirt that I loved from Chico’s on clearance for like $22.00. It bordered on snug but I really liked it, I wore it the other day and it was a little loose on me!!! It was the first time that I noticed a real change in my upper body. Have I mentioned lately how I have the best yoga teacher ever! Thank you S!!!

Happy Friday and I don’t know about you but I can’t wait to sleep in tomorrow!…..Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Double Standard

  1. Ivie says:

    Princess Peach. Oh my! When I was in high school I knew a couple that went to prom as a devil girl and an angel boy. They had wings and everything! So it shouldn’t be bad for her. It’s true kids aren’t nice but this is a good gateway into the real world – some adults aren’t nice.
    Good job with slimming down! Keep it up! 🙂

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

