Pumpkin Palooza

IMG_0215IMG_0222

Tonight was the perfect ending to the weekend…. PT and I went to a pumpkin walk and I can’t remember a local event where there was such a huge turnout. There were people everywhere! It was a nice family type event, the girl said she didn’t want to go so I asked Pt and then of course the girl showed an interest. She had to go to her dads anyway, did she think that I wouldn’t go? Kids!

I gave up getting anything accomplished this weekend although I remade my Thanksgiving cards and I love them! I found a Christmas card that only said joy, peace, family and had a brown background and in the part where you put your message I put in a quote. “Thanksgiving Day is a jewel, to set in the hearts of honest men;but be careful that you do not take the day, and leave out the gratitude.” EP Powell Some people may have to put on readers to see it, but it is worth it.

MK came for a visit yesterday and it was a really nice day. We started out by having vegan burgers that are rated one of the top 10 in the country. She aspires to be vegan but struggles with giving up cheese. I aspire to eat better but every once in a while there is nothing better than a nice, juicy, very pink piece of filet.

I gave her a frame with a friendship saying on it and was horrified to realize that in the 20yrs that I have known her, we have never taken a picture together. I have plenty of her with our kids and some with me and the kids but mostly it’s our kids. We took a few yesterday and I didn’t like the way I looked in any of them, but we have them now.

We went to a local artisan event and traipsed through the woods in the rain and we didn’t even mind. We both got a lot of ideas and a Christmas present or two. We also decided that once a year isn’t enough and figured out a half way point. There is no evil bridge between here and there so we will meet up more often now for sure. I haven’t lived in the same town as her since I was 6 months pregnant with the girl and it’s funny how we are still on the same page. It’s a pretty cool thing actually.

The girl and I went to a freedom party last night and there was a nice turnout. It makes me smile that she has such a solid supportive group of friends.  There was a lot of talk about kids and sports and I asked the girl afterwards if she missed playing sports and she said absolutely not. These parents are always running here and there, and my brother and sister in law do it too, it makes me tired just listening to it. I don’t have time now so I can’t even imagine…

Maybe I am being selfish? I focused everything on my kids when they were little but the older that they get I try and take a little more time for me every year. I don’t want to be at a loss when they leave the nest….okay I will be anyway but it won’t be as bad…..in theory.

It was a fun filled friend weekend and I am in no way ready to go back to work tomorrow……Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pumpkin Palooza

  1. Great pumpkin carvings. Hope you have an enjoyable week. Thank you for your support of the show.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

