Frozen And Not Scared

IMG_0231

This morning when I was getting ready for work I was wooed outside by a pink glow, it is no secret that I love a cotton candy sky. It was downhill from this moment but picked back up around 5 pm. Anybody else recognize a cycle here?

Last night after reading this post http://doctorly.wordpress.com/2014/10/23/the-enchanted-forest/  I was inspired to write about the lies that I told my children, and then today….not so much. I think that I may save that one for closer to Christmas, if I even remember.

As I stood outside tonight slowly freezing with the girl while we waited in line for a kid friendly haunted hayride I thought a lot about how much the kids make me laugh. The girl kept me laughing the whole time that we were in line so that is more than likely why my mind went that way.IMG_0234I was disappointed in the hayride….ever since they stopped using the chainsaw I stopped jumping and screaming like a little girl. That’s the judge of getting my moneys worth you know, but the girl had fun. It helped that we had fun people with exceptionally behaved little girls behind us.

Last night we had to run to the store because the girl needed a math compass, I was tired and wanted to get this done as quickly as possible.  I jumped on the freshly paved highway and said “what a pretty shiny black lake, I hope it’s firm so we don’t fall through.” It totally went over the girls head and surprisingly the boy knew right away that it was a reference to Hocus Pocus. You think that they aren’t paying any attention and they surprise you….. The girl has watched that movie a hundred times with me….at least……the boy not so much.

When I came home from work I got the play by play of her school day. Somehow the biology class referenced health class from years passed. Every time middle school health class comes up I get to relive her trauma. Maybe it makes me a bad parent because I didn’t march myself into the school to watch the video myself, but I went to Catholic school where this wasn’t an issue because they pretended that pre marital sex didn’t happen. I never had to watch a movie in health class….we didn’t even have health class. I do wonder what is in this video that made a boy pass out and another one throw up. They showed a penis and the girl couldn’t believe that I signed a paper so she could watch it.

The girl was bouncing off the walls tonight, uber hyper, until we walked into Barnes and Noble and instantly she dropped like a sack of rocks. I wasn’t even in there 10 minutes? I have so much to do this weekend, I’m out $10.00 and 2 hours from the hayride…I need to pace myself and not stress out…..breathe…..just breathe.

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

