Which Emotion Should We Start With?

Ups…downs…and in between….it has been emotionally eventful since my last post.

I can start with… we have heat. I have no idea how much it will end up costing, but the furnace is working. There was so much anxiety last night…what if he couldn’t fix it? I can’t even afford last years oil bill let alone a new furnace…I  am grateful that I don’t have to face that battle.

I had my irritated so angry I could just cry moment at work. I now understand why my old lab manager was so upset (and retired) about the changes after the merger. I am supposed to be grateful that I have a job, but everything was better before. We had better benefits, better bonuses and a better 401k plan. I have only been in it for the last two years….after the merge. The only way I can get money out is to quit…..really because how long have I been working on that? There goes that plan to get ahead of the game on heating oil…..I despise heating oil!

I haven’t truly escaped reality with a book for a long time, last night Sarah’s Key helped me keep things in perspective. How can you complain about being a little cold while reading a book about the Holocaust? I started reading around seven, hoping to distract myself while still waiting for the furnace guy to get there, I finished it before I went to bed. It was a fast read and I am still thinking about the characters a day later, I would say “yes you should read it.”sarahs-key1

Good thing since book club is tomorrow, speaking of book club I am meeting SB beforehand for an early birthday dinner. I have already received early birthday cards and lots of chocolate! MK sent me this beautiful cardIMG_0326

I received this from one of my favorite accounts today as well. The card made me laugh out loud!IMG_0325

Dark chocolate is the best….mostly because the kids won’t touch it!

I actually slept pretty good last night for a change, I think that there maybe something to that blue light thing….too bad blue tech lenses are hideous. Maybe it was the reading or just the good old sense of relief? Maybe it was because I only worked half a day? I don’t have any exciting stories about my volunteer cooking adventure this month, but I found a zen like activity….IMG_0324

Notice how they are not all the same size or shape? It drove me crazy! I obsessed over the uniformity of these yummy rolls. It didn’t help that when I made it to row four….row one was already rising. I would feel horrible if there was an upset homeless person because the person next to him had a bigger roll. Maybe that’s just my kids ringing in my ear?

I did take better pictures of the vault while I was there, I know I keep going on and on….but it’s pretty awesome.IMG_0319IMG_0323

The candles are all lit when you eat in the vault and they open some of the safety deposit boxes and put candles in there too.IMG_0322

I stopped on the way home and got my hair cut, and it was ten dollars cheaper to get a dry cut. I have baby fine hair….it’s better to cut my hair dry. I like this new girl so far….she is fast and accurate, which is what I need at the moment. I did tell her “my license expires next week, so whatever cut you give me will stay with me for the next four years….but no pressure.” I also can’t take a family picture with dead ends and over grown bangs…..now I just need to reschedule. Maybe I will make the kids do it on my birthday?? They can’t whine at me….well shouldn’t , and I did take the day off……

My favorite part of the day…..one of the girls at work has a preschooler who threw a fit when they drove past a house with Christmas lights. “No Santa yet…turkey first!!” I bought him a big chocolate turkey sucker after my haircut tonight. Maybe there is hope for saving Thanksgiving after all…..Zia

 

 

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Which Emotion Should We Start With?

  1. Victo Dolore says:

    My kids are also struggling with Christmas timing. Santa already visited at school. Sigh. Happy almost birthday! 🙂

    • dragonflyzia says:

      Thanks and really? I knew he was at the mall….but the schools, geez! The fact that your kids are struggling with it is a good sign in my book……now how do we get everybody else to stop shopping on Turkey Day?

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

