Solstice Sunday

winter solticeThe most beautiful part of today for me is knowing that from here on out…..every day gains a little more light…. a sign of hope in all of this grayness. It doesn’t matter as much in Ohio, in the last week there has been a total of four minutes of sunshine. I promise you that is not an exaggeration!

Today I went to a local book store for a National Short Story event. I couldn’t give up my whole afternoon a few days before Christmas but I did stay for the reading of two stories. It takes a lot of courage to read your words for a crowd like that. It was a new experience for me to spend 45 minutes in the company of numerous authors.  Maybe something will rub off on me?

Here is another day without the completion of a wreath…..but I did get everything else wrapped and under the tree. I am only missing two gift cards for the boy and “to eat” for the girl…and a bunch of book page wreaths. The kids are the most important and as long as they are taken care of I am happy.

I did make it to my yoga class today and I thought it was kind of funny/strange that her focus was on self love. This morning in my refusing to get out of bed so I could “sleep in” even though I wasn’t really sleeping phase of the day I had decided that learning to accept myself is my focus for the new year. This isn’t something new….when I was a size 4 I still wasn’t satisfied. I have never had a good body image and how the hell I managed to raise a girl with no body issues….is a miracle.

do-you-have-a-distorted-body-image-jul-11-2012-600x400

I do feel like I accomplished a lot this weekend even though I am behind in the wreath department. I am listening to the pod cast of http://party934podcasts.com/download.php?file=Front_Range_Radio_December_21_2014.mp3 Front Range Radio. I missed the broadcast in the all of my productive mess. Maybe I can get a good start on another wreath while I am listening……Zia

 

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Solstice Sunday

  1. I will have to listen to that podcast, is it any good? 😀

  2. We are definitely good enough. I loved that photo with the hand.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

