Hello 2015

IMG_0556

I made this little mixed media piece circa 2003, The Fool seemed fitting for this year. This was my attempt to familiarize myself with the Tarot….we all have our strengths and reading cards is not mine….thank goodness I have PT for that. This is my little poem that goes with it….I can’t help myself….I need to rhyme.

The Fool

Adventure awaits you,

have the courage to embrace.

Your spirit is awakening,

flowering with grace.

You have the potential,

don’t deny what’s inside.

No more running from the fear,

there is nowhere to hide.

The possibilities are endless,

open your heart and see.

Welcoming a time of new beginnings,

and discovering who you are are meant to be.

Zia Odanata circa 2003

 

I am not a poet and yet I still write them. I am giving you everything in 2015, there is no holding back!

My aspirations……I have quite a few.

I will strive to continue to battle the belly bulge…..maybe if I cut out the wine. 1 red is good but 2 and sometimes 3 is really bad. I am going to stop being so horribly mean to myself. I am 44 not 24 so when I look in the mirror I am going to stop beating myself up for not looking 20yrs younger. I found an 18 yr old picture and you will get the idea since I was this size most of my life….notice there is no belly. Big hair(it was 1989) and still baby fat face…but no belly.IMG_0566

Be nicer to myself …..first thing.

Learn Italian, which was a resolution in 2007…..before the Cockroach turned my world upside down. I WILL rectify that this year.

Learn Italian….second thing.

I want to make the perfect Bloody Mary….Sundays are soon to be Sunday Bloody Sunday. I will start tomorrow morning since it’s a vacation day……bloody mary

Perfect Bloody Mary….third thing.

I also have horrible penmanship. I found some grade school report cards all A’s and B’s and a big fat C in handwriting. My whole life you can read it bit it’s not pretty. Old dog…new tricks? I am going to give it my best!

Improving penmanship…fourth thing.

Be myself and write more…fifth thing.

These are not resolutions, it’s more like a self improvement DIY. Happy New Year everybody!….Zia

 

 

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Hello 2015

  1. Victo Dolore says:

    That peom isn’t half bad! Waaaayyy better than I could ever manage. Next, you can translate it into Italian. šŸ™‚

  2. Joel Dembo says:

    Happy New year. I sincerely hope you finally catch a break this year and get out of that optical hell hole. Fyi, I have lost 27 lbs on my healthy diet and feeling great. Talk soon.

  3. Happy Year. I hope you achieve each one of your dreams

  4. HAPPY NEW YEAR MY BEAUTIFUL BEAUTIFUL FRIEND. LOVE YOU W/ALL MY HEART.

  5. LadyPinkRose says:

    I agree with the Doc about your poem. I really enjoyed it, Zia. I also can relate to how you feel about yourself … BE GENTLE … of this too is a journey. I went through an ugly duckling phase, and honestly, I couldn’t stand for anyone to look at me. All I could think about is what I used to look like. Now? I LOVE me. Even on my bad hair days. (smile) It is a process, so know that some days you will feel better about you then others. When you get to the place, HEY I AM GREAT!, you will have arrived. (((HUGS))) and Happy New Year! Love, Amy

    • dragonflyzia says:

      Thank you for bringing me hope that this to shall pass. I am definitely working on the being gentle part as you probably remember it’s a tough one. Ugly duckling phase…I could work with that line of thinking. Maybe that will be my new mantra “working towards my swan”? Have a Happy New Year Amy!!! šŸ™‚

      • LadyPinkRose says:

        (smile) Yes, work towards your “swan”, Zia. Getting involved with a class at our gym, a combo of Yoga/Pilates/TaiChi, has massively helped with me both feeling better about me, and looking better too. Along comes Menopause, and with the loss of Estrogen, you would be amazed what the body does. My ugly duckling phase is over, and I now really do like ME. How about that? Zia, it is a process, and yes, I do at times dip back into negative thinking, but I catch myself and say NO! If I can do it, so can you. šŸ™‚ (((HUGS))) Amy

  6. In the past couple of years I’ve gained a bunch of weight, when I never had to worry about that when I was younger!

  7. Pingback: Choices | Once Upon the Wings of a Dragonfly

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

