How Much Snow?

map_specnewsdct-92_ltst_4namus_enus_980x551

I wish they would make up their mind….first it was 8-10 inches, then I heard 12-18 inches, and I also heard my personal favorite 3-5 inches. I can’t control the weather, I can only deal with whatever the outcome may be. For once the boy is home to do the heavy shoveling…..I always help…it’s the girl who is the anti shoveler.

I did all of my running around today, the only thing that I will miss out on is the Sunday paper (coupons)….and depending on the timing of the snow I may still be able to run down the street…..the street that still has Thursdays snow on it…our road crews suck! There were parking lots in better condition the the roads today…it’s just not right.

The grocery stores were a battlefield today! The girl was happy that I did that right after my hair appointment…it still needs cut desperately but at least my gray roots are gone. The kids decided on my grandma’s pizza tomorrow and because of the Super Bowl aka commercial watching,Β  I did buy them chips and dip and each a 2 liter of pop. Most of the stores were making you buy 5 in order to get the $1.00 price….I am not buying 5…the last place we stopped had them for the right price. I don’t keep that stuff in the house normally….but it’s a special occasion.

When I take the girl with me to the store there is no dilly dallying, I refer to her as the store Nazi…..she does not like to shop. When I said that I had to stop at CVS she protested..”we don’t need anything from CVS.” I had a $5.00 off of a $15.00 coupon…we were going! She made out in the end….she has been after me for batteries for video game controllers for a while.IMG_0677

We didn’t really need the shaving cream, we will use it but we already have plenty…but by spending that $1.57 I saved an extra $1.50…it’s weird I know but I had other coupons and this was the cheapest way. This little purchase of 20 AA batteries , 8 disposable razors, and a can of cream cost me $6.58…..I saved $20.47 that is a 78% savings. That was totally worth the stop, I love CVS!!

So we are as ready as we can be for this storm. We have shovels, plenty of food to cook, plenty to clean, laundry to do, two books on CD, 1 book that I started that is not fiction, one on my coffee table that I can escape into, I have a couple more wreaths to make, some projects to try if the scanner on my printer works like it does in my head…..I could probably stay in my house for a few days before I needed civilization. The kids are good as long as they have Wi-Fi, without that….we could have Donner party issues……Zia

 

 

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How Much Snow?

  1. Victo Dolore says:

    A couple of years ago we lost all internet access in an ice storm. Out for two days. Crazy how dependent on it we have become.

  2. Good luck with the storm. Hope it turns out better than they predict.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

