Where To Start?

So far this is my favorite commercial!

I guess I should start with now and go back…..the girl and I decided that nobody would ever watch the Super Bowl with us.  We laugh too much and are in our own little world. We are rooting for the Seahawks tonight and poor Jeremy Lane what a great interception only to be hit….I didn’t like that hit, and I like the Patriots less because of it. I try not to get too involved….I’m only here for the commercials….boo Patriots just scored.

I told the girl that we should start buying Carolina Panther stuff since I want to move that way…she said she wants to explore the other teams to decide who she likes. She asked me why I liked the Steelers? “because your dad liked the Steelers, I liked the Penguins, I would rather watch hockey.” The Cockroach was on Steelers overload and I don’t like how they covered up the Roethlisberger assults. I don’t have a NFL team now, when I was a kid I liked the Raiders? My parents didn’t watch football so I don’t know why that was my team, but it was for a long time.

Ground Hog Day, St Brigid Day, Candelmas, Imbolc, or plain old February 2nd…..what ever you call the hump day of winter it is a time to look for signs of Spring. I work tomorrow so I looked today, I trekked through knee high(it’s always deeper in the back) snow to the little patch of woods….IMG_0689

I kicked around some snow and am happy to report….I found a little green!IMG_0687

More importantly I found buds on the pear tree!!!IMG_0693It’s harder to see the buds on the lilac trees, but they are there as well..FullSizeRender(14)

Z was in her glory today and any snow that was shoveled…..and that was often, was an obstacle course for her.IMG_0683

IMG_0680

It doesn’t matter what Punxsutawney Phil says tomorrow…..Spring is on the horizon. The last couple of weekends I have noticed that the birds are chirping again…..I would buy gourmet bird food and have the fattest robin ever….if it showed up in my yard tomorrow! The sight of the robin and the coo of the mourning dove…..those are the signs I wait for!

I found an old notebook in one of the bookshelves and my oh my. I found prayers that I had written, lists that I had made, and wishes. One such list (the most thorough)had eleven things on it and I have to say that nine out of those eleven are a reality now. I still have issues with the mirror….funny how I wrote that at around 112 pounds, some things are harder than others to fix. The last thing on the list was about a man and I have given up on that one or lie to myself really well…either way this was a nice surprise feeling of accomplishment.

I wrote this list when the kids were little, the girl doesn’t even remember the library( a reference to the library on the next page) that we always went to back then….money was a bigger struggle then and I was always stressed out and felt like I didn’t enjoy my kids the way that they deserved.  The girl read this and immediately yelled to her brother “there was a time mom didn’t enjoy us…I blame you!” It makes me happy that they don’t remember my interpretation of events.

I really didn’t get as much done as I had hoped but I did clean off my desk. I put my grandpa on my desk because I loved him very much, too bad he usually has paper or a notebook over his face….today I fixed that.IMG_0679

I love my upcycled desk!……Zia

 

 

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Where To Start?

  1. you are truly truly AMAZING – LOVE YOU SOOOOO VERY MUCH – YOU MAKE ME PROUD!

  2. Love watching hockey, especially in person but I don’t get up to Denver much to watch the Avs plus tickets are to much. Outside of the warm temps last week no signs of spring yet here. I keep looking though

    • dragonflyzia says:

      46 more days until Spring! I agree about the tickets, we have a local team where the tickets aren’t as much but it’s just not the same. Now that I killed cable I really don’t get to watch. I hope you find some Spring and have a great week!

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

