Frozen With Friends

I woke up this morning and could see the blue sky through the curtains and I could hear birds chirping outside……how could this be? It was negative 5  degrees outside…..talk about hope in the frozen tundra. Still……it’s not as bad as Boston, Ohio has it much better, which is a scary statement in itself.

I had breakfast at PT’s this morning, and I’m not sure why….but that eggs benedict was the best thing that I have eaten in a long time. It was an exceptional breakfast! I did a little running around afterword and my surprise deal of the month happened at Hallmark. It was beyond freezing outside and most sane people were at home and that worked in my favor. This lot cost me $11.72!!IMG_0771

I had a $5.00 reward coupon but I still think I did good. The two 2xx long sleeved shirts are mine to sleep in, the Christmas wood carving is for my Uncle, the paper doll kit is a Christmas present for later this year,the Halloween signs were $1.00 a piece and I needed birthday cards for my nephews which was why I was there. If you have a Hallmark in your area they marked all of their Christmas down to 90% off today.

I spent the rest of my day reading the book club book.6952dc32b1af70db235bd5e6293aaf83

I can’t say that I loved it, but I didn’t hate it…I was able to read it in a day so that says something. I appreciated the irony of the ending but I did roll my eyes often. These people fell in and out of love very quickly and made some pretty bad choices. I couldn’t imagine Lord Grantham of Downton Abbey behaving like weak lord in the book. I would not read it again or recommend it or let it take up precious space on my limited book shelves. I’m glad I purchased it on Ebay for $4 and some change. PS Is the third cousin thing really okay? Yikes!

I had a very nice Valentine’s Day…..it’s always better with friends! I went with PT and some of her friends to have dinner in the vault. I had a really nice time and they had some stories…..there was a lot of loud laughter coming from our table……really we only had one bottle of wine. 🙂 It was a good one though….IMG_0767

That was the highlight of my Valentines Day, the rest of the day was spent doing chores. I have been stressing about the below 0 temperatures and the furnace, and the basement is screwed until the thaw….there are enough issues getting to my basement I couldn’t imagine adding an indoor skating rink if the furnace goes….so the girl and I went to the laundromat to wash and then I divided and dried. Check out this deathtrap…..IMG_0768

It kept snowing so the once salted path ended up covered again. Oddly the only times that I have fallen down these stairs….were on dry summer days. It doesn’t matter the laundry is done that is the important part.

I didn’t sleep a lot last night, I kept waking up every half hour to forty five minutes to make sure that I could still hear the faucet dripping and that the furnace was working properly. Tonight the kids are at their dads so I closed off the bedrooms and am going to try and sleep on the couch. My thought is that I will use less oil and the furnace will work not quite as hard. Do you see why I think that apartment living might not be so bad….it’s just too much……Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Frozen With Friends

  1. Hope the snow soon passes for you and spring arrives. Have a great week.

  2. WOW JUST WOW! WHY WHY DOES THIS HAPPEN TO SUCH A WONDERFUL GIRL AS YOU??? IT JUST IS NOT RIGHT!

  3. Oh my goodness, look at your basement. Yeah, you need to not go anywhere near that. I hope it thaws soon. We just got snow today and I am like here we go again lol. Spring is near 😉

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

