Desperately Seeking Hope

I find that when I have plans on a Friday night that it makes my weekend seem just a little bit longer. I had book club last night followed by a drink with EO who was back in town for the weekend. I think she enjoyed her brief visit with book club, maybe when it warms up some she will start meeting more people where she lives now. I was on my way out of the driveway when I looked up and saw the sky, so I backed up and tried to get a picture. This picture doesn’t do the sky justice though…..IMG_0817

I had to get up bright and early to take the girl to the local University for a school event…..optional……in the middle of a winter storm warning! She really wanted to go, so I took her. She really liked the forensic science workshop and has talked non stop about it all day, so I guess it was worth it.  I came home and then took the boy to work because the roads were bad and because the traffic picked up, they were worse. The roads in downtown and by the University were a disgrace…there was this one hill that I went up sideways because I caught the light and didn’t have the right momentum. In this picture I was on the slightly slippery packed road of snow and I was getting ready to turn on a hot mess of not plowed slipping and sliding and barely stopping kind of road.IMG_0834

The best part of the trip to pick up the girl was the robin sighting….I finally saw them…in the midst of this mess I found hope for warmer days ahead. I heard them when I was shoveling but didn’t see any, I did look for other signs. I found leaves on the azalea bush and I checked the buds on the lilac trees.IMG_0826IMG_0818

Once I rounded the kids up we really didn’t do anything else today, I hate it when the weather interferes with my routine….or should I say traps me at home like it has done the last few weeks.

My one little thing that I had to look forward to was canceled. I guess not enough people want to learn Italian this time around. I was crushed when I got the call. I don’t know if I should just look into Rosetta Stone or keep searching for a class. I will see what I can find it’s not like the refund check is going to get here super fast, so I have some time. I am really disappointed but I will find another way.

I hope the roads are better tomorrow because I have a whole lot of things to cram into one day……Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Desperately Seeking Hope

  1. Victo Dolore says:

    Aw, dang. No Italian?!??!

    • dragonflyzia says:

      no…not his time. 😦 I am not giving up! I hope you are safe, I hear there is an ice storm out your way…be careful.

      • Victo Dolore says:

        Ice storms down here are probably a joke compared to what you see! In fact your photos of the snow would be enough to bring things to a standstill for at least 2-3 days. We are a bunch of ice/snow pansies!

        • dragonflyzia says:

          If it makes you feel better I white knuckle it a lot! It will be close to 30 degrees tomorrow and I am hoping that the warmer temps will help. I just said 30 degrees and warmer in the same sentence….that’s just not right. I don’t think that you guys are pansies…you just aren’t used to it.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

