Food For Thought

vegucated-2010

I spent my Friday night watching this documentary…..talk about food for thought. I know that I could never be a vegan, I like cheese way too much, but meat on the other hand…. I seriously thought about this last night and today. I eat meat because that is what I am used to, do I enjoy eating it? There are certain things that I cannot give up, first being meatballs. Meatballs that have been simmered in sauce all afternoon are part of my biggest comfort food. No way can I give that up. How often do I eat meatballs? Once maybe twice a month, that’s not so bad. The second thing that I can’t give up is bacon. That perfect summer B.L.T. with a fresh from the garden big juicy tomato on thick toasted bread, dripping with the mayo/ tomato juice combination….yeppers not giving that up. Lastly the smell of a roasting turkey and the boys favorite meal is not something that I am willing to give up. How often do you roast a turkey? Two maybe three times a year? These are all things that are not eaten daily, I can “not” eat meat a lot of the time.

If you put a bacon wrapped spanish olive in front of me chances are pretty good that I will eat it. I am sad to say that, considering that I still have the image of that pig being boiled and peeled stuck in my head. I have always loved a good steak but that last couple of times that I was out and had steak, I was immediately in the bathroom as soon as I was home. My stomach didn’t enjoy  it as much as I did, geez there’s a sign….

I was surprised at the callousness of my animal loving daughter. She said “they are animals we are supposed to eat them.” She wouldn’t watch any of the documentary either. Sometimes her father comes out in her too.

IMG_0943

The girl and I volunteered in the Habitat Restore today, she hated it….I will probably go back. Everybody was super nice and it is helping out my little buddy with her hours. We basically priced stuff, put it in carts, and then took it out on the sales floor and put it away. It was like garage sale-ing in reverse…. I will be donating many things that I would have normally given to Goodwill since 100% of the Restore’s proceeds goes to building houses.

There was an incident on the way to the ReStore,the girl thought I had lost it and I don’t even care if it was wrong…..I hope it made that idiot “zappa 3” think twice about driving like an asshole. I will just leave it at that….

On our way to Giant Eagle after volunteering we went through a town that has a 25 mph speed limit and cops that will stop you for going a mile or two over. I am doing the speed limit when an SUV flies by me and I said “now if that was me driving like that I would get a ticket” the girl looked at me and said “I guess Paul Walker has left the car.” I don’t know where she comes up with that stuff!

There was quite the crowd at Giant Eagles wine tasting today, much to the girls dismay. I can’t help it that she is usually with me, she has an Ipod….geez.IMG_0944I went home with the Malbec.IMG_0948

We left there and I went to my local Italian grocery store and stocked up on vegis. I have been trying to cut back on pasta and not eat bread when I love those things so I’m going to change it up. I am going to cut out the meat with the above mentioned occasional exceptions and eat bread and pasta and see what happens. I know that it is always everything in moderation but I like a good challenge……Zia

 

 

 

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Food For Thought

  1. Victo Dolore says:

    Food, Inc. and Super Size Me really got to me back in the day…

  2. challenge – life is a challenge – you handle it quite well!

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

