Making Some Headway

25cc33440fdd08a060c913d3eb70ca4a

I started cleaning out and organizing my closets a few weeks ago, and surprise…didn’t finish it. Today I went through my entire closet AND every dresser drawer. I had two piles, Goodwill and my friend KW. I didn’t make it to Goodwill before 5 but I did drop of two bags to my friend. Her husband insisted that I stay for dinner, which was nice…..but I was on a roll. Hopefully tomorrow I keep this up, I even found a bag of paperwork that needed sorted and most of it just needs shredded. I do have a small sense of accomplishment, I guess that is something.

I am much better today compared to last night. I hate when I have moments of weakness like that, thank goodness that they are few and far between. A few good things have come out of this….do you remember last year and my resolution to face my money, and how I only peeked at it? Well I am on alert now and I will return to the OCD banker I was when I was a teller. I have checked my transactions everyday since Friday. On Friday it was to make sure that my last paycheck was deposited, the rest is obvious. This is also lighting the fire under me to consult with an attorney about filing bankruptcy. I have got to start facing things before it is in my face and I have no choice.

I started my Sunday the best way, with breakfast at PT’s,  food and friends….can’t beat it. I ran to Office max to pick something up and I came across this pack of pens on clearance.

IMG_1022

The sign said $4.00 which I thought was a good deal for 25 fun colors, they rang up $1.96….I went back and grabbed another one. I couldn’t take the last one, I thought that someone else should be surprised at the great deal. I opened one and put one away, I know that I shouldn’t bring more in when I am trying to clean things out, but I know that they will get used.

I must confess that I did go to Barnes and Noble to get another copy of Outlander. I couldn’t find mine and I needed to read the words after the season finale. I did remember correctly,but I had to be sure. I justified it with a 20% coupon. I think that I may have to take a cue from PT and start recording who borrows what. I just let PT borrow The Distant Hours by Kate Morton, I know that she won’t forget, but I should start a list. When I lose a book it’s like losing an old friend, I think that I may be too attached. 🙂 Oh well, there are worse things……Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Making Some Headway

  1. Joel Dembo says:

    I see you suffer for the fear of missing out. Listen, unless the item is free it is not a good deal, if you don’t need it, Coupon or no coupon. If you tracked the money you spend on books, crafts and other stuff you don’t need you may be in better shape than you think. Good luck with the new job I’m glad you are away fro that Essilor group of thugs.

    • dragonflyzia says:

      Thank you, it’s always helpful to have another view from someone looking in. I think that tracking my spending is an excellent idea, and have plenty of clutter to prove you right on buying things that I don’t need. Believe it or not, I have actually improved on this. I am happy to be free of Essilor, and only one who has been there knows how much. I hope things are well with you and your family. 🙂

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

