Book Shelf Day…..Round One

I am still working on cleaning out the clutter as per usual over here. Today I started on my bookshelves…

If you haven’t already guessed…I love to read and I have for as long as I can remember….. I was always the kid who looked longingly at the back of her closet hoping for a portal that the wardrobe produced. Then I grew up and wanted the stones from Craig Na Dun so I could find my own Jamie…in a time of indoor plumbing..let’s be real.

I have always been a crazy reader from Nancy Drew to Stephen King depending on my age. I love how I can escape into another world so easily, it’s part of the magic of reading. When my kids were little I would grab a book and go sit outside and they would completely overreact ” we’re going to starve she has a book!” Geez….I have no idea where they get that from. šŸ™‚ .

IMG_1125

I am pretty sure that I found this handy dandy little gadget on a post from K. at http://purecomplex.com/ and I love it. I haven’t been very diligent in using it until today. I have made it through one of my book shelves, imprinting the tried and true books. One of the ladies from book club wants to have a book swap and I have a very nice stack to swap. This little tool in theory may be helpful in the future from buying books on a whim. I have to know that I will keep it and reread it before it warrants that stamp.

Is it sad that as I was going through the shelves and I would pick up a book, run my hand over the cover and say “I think that I need to read you again.”?

Work was work and it was crazy and it was busy, the doctor was over booked and I didn’t get home until after six and yet…..still an improvement over my last job.

I had fun today regardless… I am still learning new things and I am making new connections…with fellow readers…hello jackpot!

Maybe I like books too much….maybe it is part of who I am? My day consisted of work with many different conversations about books, with new people in my circle that like to read……it was a good day. šŸ™‚ …..Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Book Shelf Day…..Round One

  1. Congrats on the book swap stack! I would love to know some of your favorites! I am a Jacqueline Winspear fan myself.

    • dragonflyzia says:

      I have never read any of her books, I will have to check it out. I am obviously back on an Outlander kick so I will start with Diana Gabaldon. I also like Sarah Addison Allen, Kate Morton, Juliet Marillier, Deborah Harkness, and I just started reading Adriana Trigiani. My list changes all of the time šŸ˜Š

  2. Wait you loved Nancy Drew too??? I thought I was the only kid who loved her lo. Girl, if we had all day I would sit and tell you about all the books I used to read and still read :). And don’t feel bad, I read books twice a lot. If they are that good, or if I don’t remember it, why not stroll down memory lane. And you have the my book tool.. well that’s what I call it lol.I don’t know if you’ve noticed, but your life seems more happier these days and girl I am so excited for you. More good things to come šŸ˜‰

    • dragonflyzia says:

      I bet we would have a lot of fun together šŸ˜Š we could spend hours just talking about books . I love my little book embossing thing a ma bob too. Thank you for noticing that I am happier. Have a great day and thanks for making me smile šŸ˜Š

  3. Cecilia says:

    That is always a good idea, to declutter the bookshelf. Normally I can declutter very well, I live mostly zen-like, but books, that’s another story … šŸ™‚

    • dragonflyzia says:

      I am the exact opposite of zen like but I try. šŸ˜€ Books are a beautiful thing and it’s hard not to bring them home! Thank you for your comments, I hope you have a great day.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

