Lost in a Book

IMG_1177

Barnes and Noble is trying their hand at a young adult book club and I talked the girl into giving it a try. If they had books like these when I was in high school I never noticed, I was too busy reading Stephen King. I think that I would have read books for my age group if books like these existed in the eighties.  SB and I both have found some pretty good books in this genre.

Most of them are super fast reads, I started this one at lunch today and finished it when I came home. I didn’t do anything else tonight and since the kids are at their dads it didn’t matter. I liked it enough to give the second one a shot when it comes out later this year.

It was a nice escape into Sunshine’s world and there is a big mother daughter theme in this book which makes it the perfect thing for the girl to read right before mother’s day.

I don’t write book reviews I  judge books in my own way. I have to feel like I am there…aka an escape. I need to be emotionally attached to at least one character. Do I wonder what the characters are up to when I put the book down? Did I like it enough to recommend it to a friend?

Was it the best book that I ever read? No…but I answered yes to all of the above questions. It’s difficult to come up with something new when there are so many “supernatural” books out there…this book did that too.

I have to read The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society for my book club on Friday. I am on page 19 and not interested at all, I was sucked into the Sunshine book from page one. I will give this book my best shot… thank goodness that I have until Friday….Zia

 

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lost in a Book

  1. It is hard to come up with a new topic, when it comes to books. BUT even though the genre may be the same, everyone should have their way of telling a story. I definitely missed your blog girl.

    K / The House of KTS (formerly of Pure & Complex)
    http://www.houseofkts.com

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

