Trash or Treasure?

IMG_1217

I went to a few garage sales today and because I was in a development I was finally able to snap a picture of some babies! I usually spot them when I am on a road that you can’t exactly pull over to take a picture. This was when I was on my way home after a couple of hours of jumping in and out of the car and even getting rained on a few times.

I spent less than twenty dollars and found a few good buys. I bought a coffee bean grinder for $2.00, mine died about a year ago and I use it for herbs more than anything but I will use it. I found a gently used football hoodie for the girl, some sweaters for my future poncho projects ( I am thinking that everybody may get one for Christmas next year) a new purse…..still very small but at least I can carry with this one, the one I am using right now is too small for that. I lucked into a box of little brown glass bottles with droppers from a teacher. I picked those up for a $1.00 and the girl took the bonus magnifying glass. The house where I found those also had a section of baby clothes that were in individual ziploc bags with the size and brand written on every bag……if there was ever an award for most organized garage sale items this girl would win hands down.

FullSizeRender

I also found some ties because I want to give this project a try….not as a dress but as a top…..9f60a1a444e32bd9b11cf14b1d5e6a68

I did find a turkey head band for a child and I will have to come up with a way to get the dog to leave it on long enough to take a picture for the Thanksgiving card….that was a dollar too. Most of my buys today were to make other things and I am getting better because it wasn’t even hard to walk away from things that I normally would have brought home.

I did start on the wine bottle border today, with the girls help. I brought out my great uncle’s trident from the Korean war that normally lives right under my bed should I ever need to impale someone. I never use it (thank goodness) and it was perfect for starting the holes…FullSizeRender(2)

This is the beginning of the project, there is no mulch yet and it is too early to tell what is a weed and what is coming back up.FullSizeRender(1)

I think all of last years mulch washed away, I am hoping that this project will help with that. I am going to need many more bottles, this is about a third of what I will use.

I managed to get a little bit of organizing done today and I started another Saturday at yoga. Last night I didn’t do much other than some grocery shopping and the girl and I watched Pitch Perfect.

I am off to clean out the refrigerator….my Saturday nights are sooo exciting….Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Trash or Treasure?

  1. Victo Dolore says:

    You run across the best ideas! The tie project looks fun.

  2. lbeth1950 says:

    You done good, girl!

  3. lbeth1950 says:

    Wear that dress. It’s hot!

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

