First Try….Be Honest

woodsShe opened her eyes and wondered why she was on the floor as she sat up, she realized that he was on the couch. “What are you doing here?” she asked and his reply was cool as he said “I was just running all over town with the Nielson guy, it was awesome! We even stopped at a strip club and he bought me a girl….all on the company card. Don’t worry babe you know that you are the only one that I love.” He smirked a little as he said that last part. She shouted “get out of my house!” “No….I like it here and I’m not leaving” was his response. She grabbed her purse and headed for the door while saying”fine, I’ll leave.” “If you’re leaving than you can leave your purse, I’m gonna need some money”, he said with that look in his eye. “Fuck you!” she said as she reached for the door and he lunged to try and stop her. She wasn’t sure how she escaped that moment but she did and she ran until she stumbled and she turned around bracing herself as she raised her gun….and there was no one behind her. Her chest was pounding, her breathing ragged and she closed her eyes. She opened her eyes with a sharp inhalation and froze as she listened, when she didn’t hear anything she slowly exhaled and thought “it was only a dream, I am free of him”…..but was she really?

This is my first try at flash fiction and well…..the nightmare that woke me up about 4am this morning. I thought I might as well do something constructive with it since I was too freaked out to go back to sleep.

On top of having this dream one of his little followers came into work with her grandmother….”fuck” was my word of the day. I know that she saw me and I guess it was only a matter of time before somebody told Cockroach where I work now. I walked away and hung out in the back until she left. What are the odds?

I went to PT’s after work for dinner and man o man you have never had gravy until you have tasted hers! Dinner tonight and leftovers for lunch tomorrow as well as great company, I am one lucky girl.

I came home, took a little nap in the bathtub and washed all of the dishes that the kids left and made brownies to take to work tomorrow. I thought chocolate might make full moon Tuesday a little brighter……Zia

Strawberry-Moon-Icon

 

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to First Try….Be Honest

  1. Girl, don’t you know chocolate makes everything better? If you didn’t know that, then we need to seriously talk lol. I really think you did a good job with that excerpt. It sounded really good and I am definitely interested in finding out what’s happening. I think you need to keep writing, if that’s what in your heart to do. I always love coming here, it’s like coming to talk to an old friend 🙂

    • dragonflyzia says:

      I think we do need to talk 😊 I’m glad you liked it and I was terrified to post it. I really like your new blog but am still getting used to it not being as accessible as it used to be. I haven’t had a chance to check out your new store….I should get on that lol 😊

      • Then we will definitely have to talk. I will email you and let’s chat about anything. And if you have any suggestions of what I can do better with the blog, you know my email doors are always open for you 😉

  2. Pingback: I Shouldn’t Have…. | Once Upon the Wings of a Dragonfly

  3. Very interesting story. Keep writing.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

