Don’t Ever Get Old

I see a lot of elderly people Monday through Friday and other than “have a nice day”, I hear “don’t ever get old”….. We had a live one today and I came home and lectured my daughter because of it.  The way I see it…when you lose your mom at 31 when she was only 51 and she was your rock….you have a hard time dealing with selfish bitches who treat their mother like doggy doo doo. She was loud and obnoxious and caused a scene for over an hour, not because she didn’t know where her mother was but because she had places to be. The only reason that she was there was because the nursing home told her she had to be. She was an ungrateful beast as far as the rest of us are concerned, and  I was never so happy to see someone exit those doors….

old

I love old people….they are full of great stories. Those stories may not mean as much to the family that has heard them a million times, but as a stranger…you never know what you may learn. I spend most of my day hiding my smile or chuckling under my breath….seriously…I want to take them home, cook them dinner and listen to their stories. I am okay with the fact that I sound like a crazy person.

If you could see what I see everyday you would want more too. There are some so sweet that they still hold hands. Some that bicker and pick the whole time with that “this is the only way I can amuse myself anymore” look in their eyes. There are some who come with their concerned family members and some that keep it crazy fun….there was a grandmother and a granddaughter who not only shared a name but shared a wardrobe….I kid you not!

I am forty four and after November I will be closer to fifty than to forty…I still have no interest in being in a relationship. I don’t mind being alone now but what if I do later? That would be classic me….to wait until I am totally falling apart to decide I want a relationship.  What do I do with myself?

We had sales reps in yesterday and Force of Nature girl left my alone with them at the end of lunch….only to find out that it was on purpose. Salesmen are right down there with lawyers when it comes to authenticity (not you GB) I could have strangled her! Today someone was in optical that looked so familiar and right before he left I figured out that it was the mailman that put that letter in my mailbox, I was never so grateful to have my view blocked by a computer screen. It has been a heck of a week!

The kids came home last night and I can’t remember getting a hug like that from my son since he was little and the girl …well she had no problem vocalizing how happy she was to be home. I am just happy that we are together again…. it was a long ten days…….Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Don’t Ever Get Old

  1. yea – great story – great ending

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

