I Shouldn’t Have….

6shb37t9fraz6rx_580

Do you remember when I attempted to turn my dream into flash fiction? https://onceuponthewingsofadragonfly.wordpress.com/2015/06/01/first-try-be-honest/   Well my critique was tonight and I lived through it BUT it stirred up way too much. When will I learn? One of the suggestions was that I start off with the fact that it was a dream and then I could use dream logic to explain some things away. I wish I would have thought of that, maybe certain questions like ‘his” motivations, etc. wouldn’t have come up. I know that all of my emotions show on my face so I hope that the teacher didn’t think that was struggling with the constructive criticism because I wasn’t….most of it was good. I couldn’t bring myself to say that it was my dream and I wrote it down as it happened….I hate that look that people give you when they find out you were in that kind of relationship…so I just left it.

The girl and I went to see Jurassic World this morning. The first dinosaur that came on the screen, even though it was on a monitor was the Pachycephalosaurus…..the girl loved that. We both liked the movie and the girl is already planning on going to see it again.

The writing prompt this week was to write a story using this as a first line “I will wait for her in the yard that Maggie and I made so clean and wavy yesterday afternoon.” The girl challenged me to write her dinosaur into the story and this is what I came up with….

I will wait for her in the yard that Maggie and I made so clean and wavy yesterday afternoon. I am so excited! I feel like a can of soda pop that has been shaken up and I can barely contain myself! I live for the summers when my cousin Jo comes to visit, we have the best time. We stay out late and catch fireflies and get up early to go fishing. Jo always comes up with something cool to do that no one around here would ever think of. Last year Jo secretly buried a bunch of colorful dinosaurs and we pretended that we were on a dig site, it was the best. I was as happy as a dog on a day my momma makes bone broth when I found the first dinosaur with my broom, Jo said it was a Pachycephalosaurus. I had never heard of that dinosaur and I keep him up on my dresser as a souvenir of that day.

Jo never makes me feel like a stupid little boy Maggie does that without even trying and I have never have been able to understand how she could give me the summers of my life and still find time to play dress up with Maggie. My cousin Jo is well….pure magic and nobody could ever convince me that she’s not and I would spit on them if they tried.

I hear it! I hear the car coming down our really long driveway…believe me it’s long, it takes forever to walk to the mailbox to catch the bus. Sometimes when it’s snowy or raining really hard I am never sure that I will make it home. That would make my momma feel real bad about making me walk and not driving me when she has a car right there. I can see the car now, it’s a pretty long white car…well it was white before it hit our driveway and now it’s all dusty.

My momma came out on the porch while wiping her hand on a towel….why are her hands always wet? It’s a mystery to me but my momma always has a towel in her hands. The driver got out of the car and opened Jo’s car door and out stepped a girl with a head full of curls in the fanciest dress I ever saw. Who was she and where was my Jo? The fancy girl turned and met my eyes and holy heck it really was my cousin Jo. I don’t understand this girl looked like a grown up but she had Jo’s eyes.

She hugged my momma and thanked her driver, she called him Milton. My momma told Milton that he could take Josephine’s bags upstairs to the room on the right. Jo walked over to Maggie and gave her a hug and told her that she couldn’t wait to fill her in on all of the beau’s that have come calling lately. I was almost in tears, where was my Jo…what has happened to her?

She then turned to me and gave me a monster sized hug and whispered in my ear “just let me ditch these sissy clothes and meet me at the river in an hour and we can go fishing first thing.” I didn’t realize that I had been holding my breath until that moment. I exhaled a huge sigh of relief and thought…there is hope for my summer yet….

That was my story this week, next weeks challenge isn’t a prompt it’s to write a story with exactly one hundred words. That’s going to be a tough one……..Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I Shouldn’t Have….

  1. what i am telling YOU -YOU ARE AMAZING – THAT IS IT! YOU ARE BRILLANT! OW WELL CAN NOT SPELL BUT YOU KNOW WHAT I AM SAYING! OVER AND OUT

  2. Becky Vignon says:

    Great story! As the tomboy growing up with four brothers,  I was really getting into it! You’ve got talent,  girl!

    Sent from Yahoo Mail on Android

    From:”Once Upon the Wings of a Dragonfly” Date:Sun, Jun 14, 2015 at 7:59 PM Subject:[New post] I Shouldn’t Have….

    dragonflyzia posted: ” Do you remember when I attempted to turn my dream into flash fiction? https://onceuponthewingsofadragonfly.wordpress.com/2015/06/01/first-try-be-honest/   Well my critique was tonight and I lived through it BUT it stirred up way too much. When will I “

  3. Very interesting, nice how you worked the dinosaur into it.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

