The Way You Make Me Feel

SB and I differ in our yoga preferences which is funny because we started out in the same classes. She likes the power classes and she is getting crazy good at the arm balances. She likes the power classes because it makes her feel like there is nothing she can’t do. That’s a good feeling to have and it’s a good workout, I am not a fan. I understand the why of pumping heat into the room, but I’m not a fan of that either. I need the cardio so I have been partaking of Saturday mornings.

I sweat like crazy in the spiritual flow class and so….yes it’s a little preachy in the beginning, but it’s a good class. My teacher is not my sister in law and I know that’s part of the reason that SB doesn’t come to that class…which is on hiatus until September….boo.  Most times I can ignore all of that because of the way I feel after that class with the flow and the chanting….I feel connected.

Is it weird…. that for me it’s all about how I feel after the class? I don’t mind all of the work and the sweat if I feel connected in the end. If I don’t feel connected then it’s just exercise. Yoga has always been a mind, body , spirit thing for me, not a trip to the gym.

So tonight after my exceptional Yin class, I thought about our discussion about the different classes. I don’t think that I am in a Yin rut as much as I love, love, love  the way I feel after a Yin class. I find it so hard to let go and relax….and anyone who has ever rubbed my shoulders always starts with “Good God woman your shoulders are so tight!” That is where I carry everything, I can’t help it. The woman who teaches the Yin classes at the studio I go to is phenomenal. It is a combination guided meditation and gentle stretching of the connective tissue. SB is not a fan of this teacher because of a flow class she took last year. I took her flow class last year and I agree it was not a class I would take again, but she has grown leaps and bounds in the teaching of her Yin class.

I probable won’t be able to keep up this monthly membership when I move into an apartment, $59.00 per month is pretty pricey. I will miss the Yin class most of all.

Speaking of Yin……my biggest fear happened tonight…..to somebody else, thank goodness.  We were all in Savasana after a class of frog, saddle, sleeping swan, fish, etc. when it happened. It started out like a little rumble and turned into a really loud full on snore. While suppressing my giggle, all I could think was “thank goodness it’s not me!” Tonight’s class was that good……ZiaYogaWomanSilhouette-850x567

 

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

