Bell, Book, and a Big Mess

I really wanted to say big ass mess in the title but I couldn’t bring myself to do it. Trust me though….I definitely made a big ass mess.

Yesterday I found a brand new unopened copy of Bell Book and Candle for a $1.00 at a garage sale. I asked PT if she wanted to come over and evaluate my wardrobe,  and watch the movie, thankfully she said yes. She was a really good sport and gave me her honest opinion on every piece of non work out clothing that I own. When I was done my bed looked something like this….pile of clothes

Well maybe that is a slight exaggeration, but you get the idea. In completing this quest I discovered a few things….first my suspicions about my nose last fall/winter and mold was accurate. I have to wash everything in my closet, my nose went crazy last night and isn’t too hot today either. It’s dry in the basement now and should be okay for a few more months until I move. I also learned that most of my shirts look better with black pants versus jeans.

I have found that there is a very fine line with my body and jeans, even when I was too skinny. If I find a pair of jeans that don’t give me “mom ass”, they make an over sized muffin top. If I find a pair of jeans that keep it all tucked in I have bad ass and the legs are huge. I may have a middle aged middle but I still have skinny chicken legs. Why do I keep putting myself through this? I think that I may seek out a pair of dress denim and go that route. When I was a size four I was always tucking my tiny muffin top (now I realize it was tiny) in so maybe my body type should stay away from jeans? It’s a thought at the moment.

I also learned that I need one of these…..shape

I am too self conscious about my body and maybe if I had one of these it wouldn’t take me so long to find something to wear. I have clothes, I just have a bad body image….always have had a bad body image. PT was specific about using this type that doesn’t go over your bra. Every time that she would say “oh that’s cute” and I would say “I don’t wear this because I think it shows too much back fat” she would remind me of this slimming thingy.

When I was getting ready this morning in between sneezes I was thinking. Yes I  have skinny arms and legs, I need the hips to balance the boobs….if I didn’t have the hips than I would be as unbalanced as Barbie…who wants that? I certainly don’t want Ken he’s arrogant and thinks he’s “all that”. Then I thought about the girl when she was little and how when she played with a Ken doll he was always called Angel, Spike, Giles or Xander…..growing up in my house was not normal I guess.  See how I get off topic?

Once I had a big pile of clothes that fit on my bed, I sat down and put in the movie. I had never watched it all of the way through.  When I had cable I watched  part of it on a classic station but I never made it to the end. Once I realized why Jack Lemmon looked so familiar I only ever saw him as a Grumpy Old Man….he was so young.

bell

PT left around eleven, I sat down at the computer with every intention to blog. My eyes were watery,and I was tired. All of that coupled with the wine, cheese ans trying on all of my clothes….I was exhausted, so I went to bed.

I woke up this morning and PT and I went to a local farmers market. We had breakfast, she a blueberry crepe and I had an omelette with roasted red peppers, tomatoes and asiago cheese. I left with rosemary foccacia bread….I’ll eat bread if it is worth it. My plan is to toast a slice and take it to work for lunch with fresh tomatoes in olive oil.IMG_1772

Now I am just working on my new laundry mound, and later I am taking the girl to the mall to look for jeans for school…..then I have to take her back to her fathers. They come home tomorrow thank goodness! I would just like to take advantage of this tax free weekend and buy the girl some school clothes. Then I am going back to PT’s for dinner….I have had a pretty full weekend……Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Bell, Book, and a Big Mess

  1. Oliana says:

    I enjoyed this…you are so funny!! I used to be skinny for many many years and still complained of my tummy …now I figure I earned my curves and girl, I like them. When my grandson was 3 and he was hugging my tummy, I realized that it feels so much nicer hugging some flesh …my mom was always on diets and so skinny my daughter said she found her so bony to hug. So there you go…also a bit of cushion helps to protect my bones when I fall:)

    • dragonflyzia says:

      Thank you! It makes me happy that I made you laugh and you made me feel better by sharing your story. 😊 I am going to try and think of it as “earned my curves” I really like that. I hope you have a wonderful day 😊

  2. Not sure what to say about this post. I don’t know anything about woman’s clothing. Hope you have a good week.

  3. Purging old clothes is like exfoliating your closet. It feels good when it’s over.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

