Shop Till You Drop

My idea of  shopping may be different than most but I found some great deals today.

yard-sale-sign

I started my day at Yin, bought my $3.00 fancy coffee, and turned the first corner to see what I could find. The town where I take my yoga classes has quite a few upscale areas and that was my first stop.

I know that I have complained about how my house has no overhead lighting…and the girls giant floor lamp with the moveable lights broke, and I really didn’t want to buy her a new one because we probably won’t need it when we move. My first stop had the exact lamp that I needed for $5.00….sold! Yes it works. 🙂

My second stop turned up a fifty dollar Ott Lite for $3.00 and a 36×59 cutting mat for $5.00. My third stop I had to think about….I even got in my car drove two miles, turned around in the high school parking lot and went back. This is what caught my eye….IMG_1789The true color is more like the shelf, the flash lightened it up.FullSizeRender(67)

I thought $30.00 was a fair price for as nice as it was. I don’t need new things….but I really don’t want to take most of this mismatched…..I made due with….stuff that no longer serves me.

I stopped at a friends garage sale and bought some ties for my tunic top project and a Shaun Cassidy album just for the memory…..was I seven or eight?MI0003343274

She had a dresser that I thought Logan might like, especially since the top of his has water damage from his leaky roof. He liked it and she offered it to me for only $25.00.IMG_1795

I text my cousin with the truck, I knew he was at a beer festival and would be accommodating….not that he has ever told me no. This is how the text conversation went…..

(I worked the name of the beer fest into the word absolutely in the original)

Z. Are you feeling absolutely generous at the moment?

L. I’m drunk lol! What’s up?

Z. I figured that’s why I am asking.

L. We have a birthday party at 5 for a 5year old.

L. I need to sober up

Z. I was wondering if I could borrow you tomorrow, briefly?

L. What us need

L. you

L. Need

Z. I bought the boy a dresser lol

Z. it’s in (name of development)

L. Ok need a truck?

Z. yes and muscle.

L. I have a truck!

Z. I know!!!! lol

There is a little more including a pre passing out, I mean nap picture….it was pretty funny. His wife was driving so no worries there. I will be meeting him after breakfast with PT tomorrow morning.

Maybe I’m crazy for not wanting to take all of this stuff but to me its all about how things make me feel. I bought this chunk of Amethyst with a coupon from Hobby Lobby a few weeks ago because I was drawn to it. There were bigger ones for the same price but this one felt like it belonged to me.IMG_1786

I like my purple bedroom and I am taking my curtains and bedspread, etc. with me but I am trying to figure out how to make my whole bedroom feel the way I feel when I look at this chunk of gemstone. It’s on my nightstand so it’s the first thing I see when I turn off my alarm clock off in the morning and the last thing I see when I turn off my light and crawl into bed. I know that I am not explaining it very well, but it just feels like it’s mine and it make me smile because I get a warm fuzzy feeling when I see it. I do realize that I sound a little wacky and I’m okay with that……Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shop Till You Drop

  1. Gema says:

    I buy gemstones when I’m drawn to them… I was hoping that’s how everyone picked them, but hey – if it makes us happy, why not?! 🙂 (and going to an American garage sale is now high on my Dream Wishlist, such incredible finds!!)

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

