Night and Day

How can two people be so alike that it’s a little scary and be so different at the same time? I couldn’t wait to get my license and the girl just now decided that she wanted hers.

When the girl was little she had her own language….she went to speech in school and was held back a year because of it. All of her classmates are turning seventeen and she will be turning eighteen. It took me a long time to get over that but I did. Thank goodness it never bothered her and she has been an honor roll student for as long as I can remember.  When I turned sixteen I immediately had a job and I have always a people person….the girl is a little afraid I think? When she knows you she is not shy but she is not a fan of conversing with people that she doesn’t know. “Stranger danger” is what she always says.  We stopped at my Saturday morning coffee place after she took the test to get her permit and I think she is going to try and get a job there….they are opening a new location in a library that is almost done. It’s a step in the right direction..she has a heavy load this school year I only want her to work on the weekends when school is in session.

Once we finished with that we started our search for the perfect shower curtain…this will be harder than I thought. I really liked my shower curtain and was bummed that it is stained and has a tear…so here we are. I don’t know about you but we always have a plastic liner and then a fabric shower curtain….we may have to get an extra layer of plastic if we decide on a lighter fabric…. The girl found a plastic liner with the periodical table on it….so she can study while she is in the shower.IMG_1819

It’s a little bright. Picking a shower curtain is not easy…..I’m not sure why?  I liked this one…IMG_1810

 

The girl liked this one…she really wants a sea shell theme and she knows I won’t go for that.IMG_1811

I kind of liked this one….IMG_1816I’m not sure how the sequins will wash up and if the black and white will go with Ophelia? I know it doesn’t….but it was pretty.Waterhouse,+ophelia+gd

We left Bed Bath and Beyond and went to Target where we liked nothing and headed over to Kohl’s and this one has dragonflies…..IMG_1818

I didn’t “love” any of them so I will keep looking, the right one will show up. I found something at BB and B that I did love and I probably would have bought it if it was in stock….IMG_1817I love my salt lamp and my salt candle holders, this is new and different and makes me smile, hopefully they will get more in. I always have a coupon for that store.

The girl and I also stopped at Pier 1 to see what they had. I didn’t see anything I had to have but the girl immediately said “Mom we should get this for the new living room” when she laid her eyes on this…. I agree it is nice but I can’t envision it in my living room, it’s just not me…..but it’s her.IMG_1809

We stopped at Ollie’s to look for a giant coloring book for a Christmas present and the girl found these….IMG_1806 IMG_1805

She wants these for her birthday for her new room? The bedspread will go nicely with her vintage Star Wars sheets as she pointed out to me. The bright blue she picked for her dresser will also match. I will of course oblige her….who am I to stomp on her style….even if I don’t get it? I never did find a coloring book.

Most of the time when the girl opens her mouth….my words come out. Her sense of style, however…..is all her own…….Zia

PS. I almost forgot…I had my six month follow up sonogram with that “lymph node”. I didn’t get worked up this time and he said that nothing has changed and to keep my mammogram that is scheduled for February. He didn’t seem worried about it……

 

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Night and Day

  1. Wow, what a world of graphics the girl inhabits. Very post-Andy Warhol.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

