Holy Tomatoes Batman!

I have been slacking this year in the canning department, until yesterday. You would think that I would have learned my lesson last year when I bought a half bushel of plum tomatoes…..not so much. I bought the same thing yesterday to supplement my own tomatoes.  I canned salsa, vanilla peach butter, and wine jelly with plums…..that one didn’t jell so I think that I may play around with it. Maybe I will melt some cream cheese swirl the jelly around in it and take it to wine taste? Maybe? I also froze three batches of corn, and to be honest….summer corn tastes the best in February.

I used this wine with the plums…

IMG_1843

IMG_1841

 

I also took all of my cherry and grape tomatoes, halved them, tossed them in olive oil and herbs, then I put them on the dehydrator. They took forever but I now have sun dried tomatoes. When I am stressed or have a lot on my mind, chopping and dicing and boiling just make me feel better. 🙂 I stood in the kitchen from 2 until 10 last night, which is why I wasn’t here.

I have an attempt at sauce on the stove now, hopefully it will be ready to can tomorrow. I do like my sleep so it will most definitely not be tonight. If it doesn’t thicken up enough, it can become a very garlicky tomato soup.

I came home after work, let the dog out and then I ran to the liquor store for boxes, they have the best boxes there….they have to be sturdy to carry all of the bottles, and I only grab the ones with handles. I grabbed five boxes today and I will have five boxes packed before I go to bed. The earlier I start the more organized I will be.

I finally did put a pen to paper and started writing that story that has been in my head for a while….not Charlie’s story but the new one that I am afraid to mention for fear of jinxing myself. When I get a few chapters into it then I will share…..Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Holy Tomatoes Batman!

  1. Looking forward to your story. Have a great week

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

