Playing Hooky

The highs and lows of writing have hit extremes over here. The last twenty four hours have my head spinning. I canceled my writing class tonight…..there was no point…. all of my words are still swirling around me. I am the first to admit what a procrastinator I am, but seriously…..I am crazy busy.coal train b and o

I am so glad that I took this workshop, I credit the family history Christmas project this year to this class. I have to have it ready to go by next Tuesday…..I will find a way.

I am not sure what made me call my Uncle last night but I did. I wanted his version of my Scarpe Legee, then I called my dad and got his version. Funny how I have three different versions.  He was by himself, he escaped with a friend, he and his five friends…… He worked for the railroad, he worked for the coal mine times two.  He ran, he walked, he took a train.  Do you see my dilemma?streetsofgold

I figure as long as I have the solid bones of the story, I can add my twist to it. I did a lot of right clicking today but I am not sure how I will put it all together.  I will find the most economical way without losing the class of it.Statue_Liberty_Immigrants_drawing_1887_dbloc_adj

I reached out to a very distant cousin last night as well. My great grandmother was sister to his grandfather. I am mostly sure about that. 🙂 We did a lot of emailing back and forth before I left my ex husband or right after…..fourteen years ago give or take a few.  My aunt said that my great grandmother wouldn’t come without her brother….well I know the ship he came over on and I found the manifest today that shows when my grandmother came over……and it’s not the same.  Her brother ended up in New Jersey and I still haven’t got to the bottom of that.coal mine

In my search for images today I am confident that I found a way to tie my hometown in another way and to tie in a recent family wedding. It’s eerie sometimes how things pop up that tie to the past.e2bb829170d5f6a85548e5e3f6748827

I may have played hooky from the workshop today but it is consuming all of my thoughts…..even my dreams.  My plan is to have the project ready to go by next week and then it will be one less thing to worry about for Christmas…….Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

