Let’s Do This!

Hello November, let’s do this!  I have spent the last year thinking, planning, developing, and changing my ideas. It is time to shit or get off the pot….it’s time for NANOWRIMO.  My initial title is Crossroads, there may or may not be additions to this, but somewhere in the title it will say Crossroads. As my friend KW says in her infinite wisdom “life is a reflection”.

IMG_2308

I worked last night and it was pretty slow, somehow I managed to eek out $48.00. I always include the $5.00 I tip the bus boy in my total, because that is what I made. I give him the same amount whether I am busy or slow….it all balances out.  I wore a little witch hat that lit up and I was the only one who made an attempt. There were a lot of “why didn’t I do that” comments made, they are young, maybe next year.

It was pretty slow with trick or treat going on everywhere, still some people came in and more after it was over. I had the sweetest couple and as he put it “we have been married 63 years and she is as beautiful today as she was the day I met her” He left Punxsutawney Pennsylvania and was on his way to California in 1950 and a pair of big brown eyes changed is mind and they were married two years later. They were so cute….I could barely stand it.

Other than that sweet couple the only other redeeming part of the night was when the hostess and I rolled silverware, and then polished silverware in order to roll more silverware because Hocus Pocus was on the television. We were working and watching the best Halloween movie….we were multi tasking.

The girl went trick or treating with her friends, even though I think she is too old. She wore my witch costume, although it was a little tight. “Mom, when is the last time that you wore this” “I don’t know a few years ago….right before I quit smoking….why?   “You need to put it on” Needless to say, I will give it to PT this week to pass it on as a donation to a local costume shop. The girl still wore it, she just hiked it up a little around the hips, plus she had my cape. When she was curling her hair and there were curls and bobby pins everywhere, I made the joke that she was half way there to a Medusa costume. FullSizeRender(89)

These little snakes were on clearance at Michaels today for sixty cents a piece…..hello $1.20 costume for next year. These snakes, my black cape, and whatever strikes my fancy will become a Medusa costume. I love it when a plan comes together…..I have twelve months to figure out how to get them to stay in my hair….or her hair, whoever uses the snakes next year.

The girl and I also stopped at the local Hallmark store today, I needed a birthday card and I need a decision on an ornament for the “tradition” category for Christmas. I picked up the catalog and gave the kids a “by Wednesday” deadline. They have a layaway, even if it is only two ornaments, it helps.  The plaza was playing Christmas music already…..it’s only November 1st?

We also stopped at Toys R us and thank goodness I don’t have to shop there anymore!  I needed a duck to go with a story book for my cousins little girl…..who knew that finding a stuffed duck would be so hard? Even a Toys R Us there was one duck tucked behind other animals….if the book wasn’t so stinking cute I would have just picked another book with an easier stuffed animal…it was worth it in the end.  I just need Michael’s to get in their fabric sacks so I can wrap it in the easiest way possible.  I’ll show you how cute they are when they come in.

I have Once Upon a Time to watch, then Front Range Scribbles radio show to listen to, while I clean up and put away laundry and then I am all over NANOWRIMO…….Zia

 

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Let’s Do This!

  1. I’m famous, I made your blog. Woohoo 😀

  2. again – YOU ARE AMAZING!

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

