Saturday Adventures……

The girl decided that after shopping for 3 1/2 hours on Black Friday afternoon that she shouldn’t have to participate in Small Business Saturday. Her brother didn’t want to get up so I dragged her with me against her will.

Our first stop was the farm up the road that was having a Christmas craft show. There were some interesting things but I didn’t buy anything. The wool was too expensive and the bracelets made out of picks and guitar strings were too small. The lady said it was her niece who made them, I suggested a bigger size. I would have bought it in a heartbeat for $7.00, it was unique and would have made a great gift….if it was in a bigger size.  The girl complained the whole time, it was rainy and muddy and we had to walk and I didn’t even buy anything.

Our next stop was the library, I had an overdue book to return and I wanted to check out their store. The store was having a 50% off sale and now the girl was glad she came. She picked quite a few books, including this one……IMG_2543

It was the most expensive of the bunch at $5.00 and I’m curious to see if she will read it. She also found a real gem from 1923 in pristine condition for fifty cents…..IMG_2541

This was my lot for fifty cents a piece….FullSizeRender(103)

Garden Spells is for the girl who sits next to me at work, she has had a rough time of it lately and I know she would like it. Plus it’s only fifty cents.  The girl was having fun in the library story and that’s when she announced that she decided that maybe an archaeologist would be a better choice than paleontologist.  As long as I don’t have to move to Montana….I am all for it. I think it comes down to the fact that she likes history and hands on research, who knows what she will end up doing?  I did have to buy her some Russian tea cakes from the deli in the library, because well Russian….she made out today.

Then we went to the store where I buy my candles and incense. The girl vocalized that the owners are nice but the store is creepy, only to find a steampunk compass necklace that she wanted and a handmade leather journal (for documenting her travels) that she liked a lot. I didn’t buy them but she pointed them out as future ideas. I did find a mug for SB that said Namaste and it felt really good in  my hand…it was a good coffee cup. They even gift wrapped it for me.

While we were there we got a call from a lady whose house we were trying to look at…..what is with people showing dirty houses for rent?  The attic window was boarded up, there was glass in the gravel driveway and the front door was open with only a chain holding it. The cost to heat this drafty house would be crazy. I had asked what had been in the back where it was all muddy like dirt bikes had been riding there, and she said “oh it used to be a triplex, but it burned down and they suspect the crazy neighbor right there.” What?????  The girl and I restrained ourselves from running out of there and then she saw the neighbor peeking out of the window…”drive mom, drive, crazy neighbor alert!”  What is wrong with people????

We came home and then I went to work where we were really slow. I had one table a party of eleven, made forty bucks and was there forever waiting for them to leave. It was a weird night….a very weird night. The hardest part of the night was trying to remember a song.  One of the cooks likes the crazy screaming music and I was trying to remember the song from a mainstream band that was all “lala, nice nice” and then “graw, graw” screaming. The cooks just looked at me and the one said “can you hum a bar? I need more.” I finally remembered that it was System of a Down.

Like I said….it was a weird night. I still have one whole day off and who knows what tomorrow will bring……Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

