When is it Too Much?

Some days I feel like I can take on the world and other days I feel like I’m in way over my head.  Today I am tired and I feel like I didn’t get a single thing accomplished, which is a slight exaggeration.

Today I learned what freezing fog was.  Did you ever hear of it?  It was the weirdest thing this morning, I really wish I could have stopped and snapped a picture or two. I did borrow this one from down the street…FullSizeRender(106)

There were tress with frosting on one side only and plants that only had the tips frosted. It was still foggy at noon and it was even worse on the way home from work tonight. It is definitely Night of the Living Dead out there.

I went in and worked a party tonight and to be honest it was the easiest party that I have ever worked. I put thirty water glasses out and supplied the wine glasses and every table had two bottles of wine, one red and one white. I hardly had to get a drink for anyone, until after dinner then there were a few who wanted coffee. It was a lot of prep beforehand and carrying out the buffet made me break a sweat but compared to other parties this one was easy. The house caps the amount that you can make on a party at 100.00 so that is what I made, plus five dollars from the miscellaneous drinks at the bar.  I didn’t get home until after nine but it was worth it.  I have to work another party Tuesday night and the girl is not happy since that interferes with her Mark Hamill is on The Flash event. She doesn’t like to geek out alone.

I was so tired this morning….I didn’t get out of bed until 10:30 and that’s late for even me.  My brother was laying on the guilt pretty good first thing this morning. My nephew was skating downtown and my brother was trying to guilt me into going. You may think that this makes me a horrible aunt but that kid doesn’t care that I was there, only my brother. I was not getting up, getting ready, driving downtown, paying for parking, paying for admission, only to leave after forty five minutes, and then come home and go to work. No! I don’t care if he was upset, the girl and I did some running around which did involve a craft show where I found two more Christmas presents. I only have so much time and I can choose to spend it as I wish.

Last night we had a Christmas outing after work, by we I mean the ten of us that wanted to do a gift exchange. Knowing that we would be playing a game instead of picking names, I picked a gift card to my favorite coffee shop. Two different people did instant lottery tickets, thank goodness I didn’t get stuck with one of those. I am not totally against scratch offs, I occasionally throw one in a birthday card, but to make a whole gift out of ten of them seems like a waste to me.  I was lucky enough to get a fluffy red throw, I will take a blanket over lottery tickets any day. It was nice to socialize for the first time with these ladies and I think we all had a good time.

I was all ready to blog when I came home. I poured the wine and set it next to the laptop and the girl was watching lip sync battles with Jimmy Fallon and said “come and watch this with me” as she patted the couch. The next thing I knew, it was 11pm and I just woke up, the dog was nestled between us and the girl was all sprawled out on the couch.  It took everything that I had to stay up until the boy got home from work. I can’t help that I’m tired…. I did get up a little early so I could go pick up my office manager’s birthday cake Friday morning….I wanted fresh and they were still putting the almonds on the Italian cream cake when I got there.

I started wrapping up the cork letters and then I ran out of my polka dot ribbon. I kept going with the craft paper, I just need to buy more ribbon.FullSizeRender(105)

The other day I stopped and finally got a battery for my watch. My watch is crap, it was 19.99 from Macy’s last year and the face is scratched and the finish is starting to wear but I really like the copper color. I wasn’t paying 10.00 for a battery, I stopped at a discount jewelry store and for less than three dollars I have my watch again.  This ring tried to suck me in while I was there……IMG_2553

First of all it’s yellow gold which turns my skin green and second it was an estate piece so they only “think” it’s a black sapphire. If I am wearing a stone, it needs to be a natural gemstone.  It did call to me though.  Thirdly I have more important things to spend my money on right now. Let’s not forget that this picture screams get a better hand lotion.

Michael’s had a one day sale with 70% off of Christmas cards, I think it was Wednesday.FullSizeRender(107)

I broke down and bought them and went to CVS and printed some pictures of the kids. I think because the main picture was of the kids with an R2D2 bale of hay that that’s why I struggled so much with the photo cards.  The card is sparkly and festive and the new Star Wars movie is coming out soon, it should be adequate to say the least. I should be able to get them all addressed tomorrow since most of my laundry is done. I have one more load to go get out of the dryer…..I am not a fan of going outside to change a load of laundry, especially in this weather.

I am hoping to find some time to relax tomorrow, the girl and I are working on a list so hopefully we will be quick in our outings…….Zia

 

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When is it Too Much?

  1. whew! you are one busy MOM

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

